Backup server to NAS

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Biscuit, Apr 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I'd like to usre Acronis to backup an image of a server to a NAS on the same network.

    Is this possible & which version of Acronis would I need?

    Server = SBS2003
     
  2. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    is possible with any server version
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Biscuit,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    As jeremyotten mentioned server versions of Acronis True Image, Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Windows and Acronis True Image 9.1 Enterprise Server supports Windows Small Business Server 2003 and can be used to backup/restore server to the networked storage devices such Network Attached Storage (NAS) or Storage Area Networks (SANs).

    Please note that the major difference between Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Windows and Acronis True Image 9.1 Enterprise Server is that the latter provide you with the remote backup feature (have a capability of performing a backup process remotely).

    You can also find version comparison page here.

    We recommend you to download and install the free trial version of the appropriate version of Acronis True Image to see how the software works on your computer.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image in the respective User's Guide.

    Please visit Acronis online store to purchase the full version of the product. Note that we have a flexible system of discounts and the amount of the discount varies depending on the number of copies you want to purchase. In case you are planning to purchase many copies (10 or more), please contact our Sales Team by filling up the Volume License Request form available at the Purchase Acronis Corporate Solutions page of Acronis web site.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  4. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Thank you for your replies.

    I was wondering whether I can use True Image Home version on a server? The costs between the Home & Server versions are substantial, especially when considering that SBS2003 server already has it's own backup software.
     
  5. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    sorry dude good and simple backup isn't cheap!
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Biscuit,

    Please notice that Acronis True Image 10.0 Home does not support server operating systems. You can find the supported operating system list in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  7. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Ok thanks for your replies. I note that a good backup is not cheap, but the differential between the home & server versions seems odd. Also as a reseller, I have to convince customers to spend money on backup software when their server already has backup.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.