Backup runs but Validation fails

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ajcstr, Aug 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    I have tried 2 backups so far that have run to good completion, but when I try to validate I get an error saying the backup is corrupt.

    Any suggestions? I ran a chksdk through windows and no errors were found.

    Also I am running the free Seagate version of Acronis - Diskwizard
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    What OS are you running?

    Did you do the backup/validation from Windows or the TI CD?

    Where is the backup saved (USB hard drive, DVD, internal drive, etc.)?

    Since you ran chkdsk, I assume the backup is another hard drive. Did you run chkdsk or chkdsk /r on the drive?
    If it's USB, is it plugged into the back of the computer? If not, then try plugging it directly into the back of the computer.

    If you have room on your internal drive (or a second internal), you could copy the backup image onto it and see if it will validate.
     
  3. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    XP Home SP2

    backup/val done from windows to external USB HD

    I only ran the standard chkdsk from within windows
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Try creating the backup and validating from the Bootable Recovery CD instead of from Windows.
     
  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    what chipset does your PC have?
     
  6. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    I ran a chkdsk at bootup and I ran the backup from the CD

    It worked this time (well, it validates at least)

    Thanks for the help
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Did CHKDSK find any errors and fix them?

    Since you can backup and validate successfully when booting from the Recovery CD, this suggests that some program in Windows that runs in the background is corrupting your backup or the validation.

    Try validating the image you made from the Recovery CD after rebooting into Windows. If it validates, then you know the problem is with creating the backup in Windows and is most likely due to something that is running.

    How was the time for the backup? Was is as fast from the Recovery CD as it was in Windows. If not, you might be able to run the backup from Windows SAFE mode.
     
  8. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Another possibility is a bad RAM location. Memory utilization is not likely the same in Windows as in the Linux recovery environment.
     
  9. tramp

    tramp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,
    you can never (IMHO) validate a image with the system partition because one second later the OS has changed some bytes/files/registry entries on the system partition.

    tramp
     
  10. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Your IMHO should be a IMWO (Wrong Opinion) :D .

    Having said that you might quarrel whether or not the TI validation method is in your HO a good one.

    You are correct, you can't do a file compare because of the changes. The TI archive validation method is as follows:
    When the data for archiving is processed a checksum is added for every 256K bytes. This checksum is included in the archive. This amounts to 4000 checksums/GB of archived data.
    When the archive is validated, it is read and the checksums are all calculated again and then compared with the ones included in the archive files. They all must compare perfectly which means if even 1 bit of a 100GB archive is not read properly the archive is declared corrupt.
    This actually is a very stringent method. It also has the benefit that the validation can be run at any time and on any machine that has TI installed.

    The TI CD version operates on a static HD since it is memory-resident Linux but its validation procedure is the same.
     
  11. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    No, just ran through 5 stages - no errors poped up

    I actually validated the image from another PC (the original image validation had failed on this PC also)

    It was slower - I let it run over night but I would guess it took 50% longer
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ajcstr,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that as jmk94903 and seekforever mentioned, it is possible that the archive is being declared corrupt because of faulty data transfers. Please run a memory diagnostics such a Memtest86+ available free from www.memtest.org for a several hours. There should be no errors reported. Please also run Windows chkdsk utility with parameter "/r" on the hard drive the archive is stored at.
    If there are no errors with memory/hard drive reported, please try copying/moving the archive to another location, and validating it again. Please also try using Acronis Bootable Rescue Media to validate the archive.

    Notice that in most cases corrupted disk/partition images can be mounted and most of data recovered. Please see chapter 12 "Exploring archives and mounting images" of the respective User's Guide for details.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  13. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    OK, I expected that disk errors were not involved, but this confirms it.
    But the critical thing I was looking for is whether the image that you made from the Recovery CD and also validated from the Recovery CD can be validated on the same computer in Windows. This will distinguish between read and write errors in Windows.
    OK, that's typical. It's not too bad, but it's not as good as in Windows. So, working from the Recovery CD is acceptable if nothing else works. Some people find that the Recovery CD is slower by a factor of 3-20 which makes it unacceptable.

    Let us know about the validation in Windows on the PC where you made the backup.
     
  14. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    I'll try, but I have not had too much luck getting that to run in the past.

    can I do that even if no os on the drive? As I say, the image on thet drive is now validated
     
  15. ajcstr

    ajcstr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    follow-up

    Both the chkdsk and memtest were clean
     
  16. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    That's good news.

    But the critical thing I was looking for is whether the image that you made from the Recovery CD and also validated from the Recovery CD can be validated on the same computer in Windows. This will distinguish between read and write errors in Windows.

    Let us know about the validation in Windows on the PC where you made the backup.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.