backup problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by vijaygunners, Oct 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vijaygunners

vijaygunners Registered Member

I am a total newbie to this so bear with me, I have true image 9.1 3534 (I think) and I wanted to make a whole backup of my c drive (roughly 12GB) because my laptop has a turn for the worst quite often and I always have to use my restore disks then install software one by one from scratch. :mad:

I clicked backup and when through the steps but when I inserted a dvd-r disk the burning failed and it said something like the problem could be the media that im using but I use this brand of disk all the time and I tried others but it still says the reason may be poor media quality.

Is it possible to save it to the same drive that im backing up instead of going direct to dvd then burn to dvd with another program eg. nero?

thank you

Vijay

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

Yes, if there is enough room. You may get a warning but ignore it. To be able to restore you must copy it off since you cannot restore a partition that contains the archive. If your archive is bigger than a DVD be sure you split the archive while creating it. Split sizes are selected either from Tools Options .... at the main screen or within the backup wizard at the options screen.

Be sure you verify your image after creating and use Nero's "verfiy after burning" option so you know your DVDs are good.

Although I much prefer this method (the so-called 2-step method) of saving an archive to DVD you may be able to get the direct writing method to work by downloading the latest build which is 3677 for TI Home. Also, do not check the "automatically validate image after creating" box in the Options since this has a known bug and can put you in an endless loop. Do your validate independently after the archive is created.

3. vijaygunners

thank you for your help, I have a few questions,