Backup priority

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by AllanP, Aug 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    From Acronis support: In answer to TI 10 b 4942's slow backup and recovery (using TI's bootabele CD), I am told "You can increase priority from Tools -> Options -> Default backup options -> Backup priority." I do not see that option at all. I have tried countless times thinking it's my fault but, it just isn't there. Nor do I get an option to set options manually. When I click on Backup or Restore I get the wizard with no options. I thought I'd post here rather than email reply to Acronis thinking this may be quicker.
     
  2. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi Allan,
    Just double click on Default backup options to open up more options.
    The backup priority option will then be available to you.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    There is no Backup priority option when booted to the CD versions of TI. TI is the only program running so it gets total priority.

    This setting is only available if running the Windows version of TI.
     
  4. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Thank you very much. I was beginning to question my own sanity. Acronis keeps replying for me to choose this option and I keep telling them it's not available. I even took pics of the program and what I was faced with.
    I think the problem lies somewhere between my new motherboard, BIOS and SATA drives. It takes almost an hour to back up or restore a 30GB partition.

    Thanks again, Allan
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    How much used space is on the 30GB partition?

    If your backups are on an internal drive, have you tried the Safe Mode of TI? It may be faster than the Linux mode if the Linux drivers are really slow.

    Have you tried a BartPE CD?
     
  6. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I'm using 10.9% of a 21.6GB partition.
    I've tried Safe mode and mouse didn't work so didn't bother.
    The thing is my old system with PATA drives and basically the same configuration took about ten minutes or less for either back up or restore and that was with a slower system.
    Edit: Just logged on to Windows XP and backed up the same partition in four minutes. So I would think that this problem is BIOS related.
    Edti: Just noticed your BartPE suggestion. Are you saying to add Acronis TI onto a BartPE bootable CD?
    Also flashed BIOS again to the latest. I was using a beta but, no difference.
    One thing I find odd is on boot up there is an on screen notice. I forget the exact wording but, goes like this. "Searching for drives" then "no drives found" and it continues to boot up without a hitch.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2007
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello AllanP,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. AllanP

    AllanP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    [Acronis #1104232] Extremely slow

    I wasn't able to get "acpi=off noapic" to work during TI startup so I turned it off in the BIOS.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello AllanP,

    Please note that, as I can see, your issue is being worked upon, and you will be contacted as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.