BACKUP MBR

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TerryWood, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi

    I have a Win 7 64 bit HP Pavilion computer, with the hard drive divided into three partitions.

    1) System 100MB (Hidden)

    2) HP (C:) 580GB

    3) Factory Image (D:)

    When I try to backup MBR with Diamond CS Boot Sector Explorer, it shows a number of physical and logical drives, but I am not clear which one has the boot sector in it. So i am unsure which one to save.

    Is it 1) above the SYSTEM 100MB partition

    or is it 2) HP (C:) 580GB

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    backup 1 & 2
     
  3. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi Cudni

    Thanks for that

    Terry
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  5. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    I used HDHacker on Win 7 x64 yesterday to backup the MBR.
     
  6. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,279
    If you want to backup the MBR, just backup it. You don´t need to backup the partitions. The MBR is not in any of them.
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Terry,

    Why do you want to backup the MBR?

    Under what circumstances do you intend to restore the backup?

    Are you confusing the MBR with the boot sector or the bootmgr?
     
  8. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    My main backup method is to use MBRtool on UBCD to backup to one of the first sectors on the hard disk. You can also use MBRtool to compare a backup to the original. I did so yesterday and noticed they differed, and so I used HDHacker to save copies of each to a file for comparison.
     
  9. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi

    Brian K

    "Why do you want to backup the MBR?

    Under what circumstances do you intend to restore the backup?"

    Because there is much information about that suggests that MBR can become corrupted ie as in some cases of installing/uninstalling CTM.

    Robin A

    "If you want to backup the MBR, just backup it. You don´t need to backup the partitions. The MBR is not in any of them".

    I wasn't suggesting backing up the partitions, perhaps its the way I said it,.

    I am still unclear where the MBR resides and how to back it up. Yes I know I can use one of the proprietory tools.

    But, from where are they selecting what needs to be backed up?Is the System Partition The C:drive or the Factory image?

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  10. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,279
    The MBR is in the first sector of the disk, which is not part of any partition.

    There are tools to backup and restore the MBR, like the aforementioned MBRTool, http://www.diydatarecovery.nl/mbrtool.htm, which is freeware.

    Also, imaging programs can backup the MBR. Paragon programs can backup the MBR independently of the partitions, or with them.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.