Backup Disk Size

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by DavidPJ, Mar 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DavidPJ

DavidPJ Registered Member

I'm a newbie to this forum and backup software in general. I'm considering purchasing True Image to backup my system c drive. My system drive is an 80GB Maxtor PATA, and I would add a second PATA drive on the same channel. I also have 2-SATA drives but I'm not interested in backing up those drives with True Image.

Regarding the drive for the backup image, is there any advantage to purchasing a drive larger or much larger than the drive that is being backed up? For example, does it make any sense to buy a 250GB drive for the backup image of a 80GB system drive?

And also, can the backup image drive be written to like any other HDD or is it used exclusively by True Image?

Thanks for getting me started.

Dave

2. bouchecl

bouchecl Registered Member

Hi Dave,

I bought True Image only yesterday, but here's my 2 cents with regards to your questions:

Larger HD?
    It would be a waste of money to buy a 250 GB to backup an 80 GB drive. Backups made with True Image are compressed, ie they take less space than the original partition. If you want to buy a drive, buy a 160 GB, clone your 80 GB to the new unit and use the smaller drive to store your backups. That's what I did this afternoon, and this message is proof that this feature works.

TI images written to a regular HD?
    Yes, images can be written as a file on a regular HD. They can be saved to a CD, DVD or a remote computer on you LAN through SMB networking, or saved to a special partition called the "Secure Zone". If you read the comments on this board, all of these options have their pluses and minuses; but I'd say saving the archive as a file is the best solution overall.

Hope it helps

Claude

3. DavidPJ

Thanks bouchecl. That's an interesting idea you have regarding the purchase of a new HDD.