Backup date not found

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by blockie, Jul 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    I backup an image,each night, to another HDD. About 20% of the time the backup fails. Looking at the log for that particular backup I find that the second to last entry is "Backup date not found" with a red error icon. The last entry in the log is that the "operation has succeeded". I have no idea what is going on. Anybody?
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    What's the version and build number of True Image?
     
  3. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    True Image does NOT have the usual help system that has "ABOUT". I have looked and looked and can not find where the version and build number might be. Can you help?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
  5. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Thanks. It works well when you know the secret sign.
    Anyway:
    Home 2009
    Build 9709
     
  6. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    You may want to download the newer build which can be installed overtop the existing 9709.
    Don't forget to make a new Rescue CD. Write the serial number and build number of any Rescue CD that you create and save each for possible use later--who know when.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2009
  7. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Wheredo I find this. When I search for it all I can find is a Torrent file update and tat appears to be a porn site.
     
  8. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    You have to login at acronis website.
    Then you see your products and the latest builds.
    Create an account using your acronis product key, if you haven't one.
     
  9. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Got the new build 9796 installed. Have to wait a few days to see if I still get the error in the log.
     
  10. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Looked at the log this morning and still got the error "backup date not found:. So installing the latest build did NOT solve the problem. I guess we continue trouble shooting.
     
  11. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    I have now had five errors in as many days. "Backup date not found" The backups that are being scheduled are completely useless. Unless WE can figure out why I get the error I will have to look elsewhere for a reliable image program. Not a threat but reality.
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello blockie,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Could you please provide us with the entire log file of the failed operation?

    - Launch the program;
    - Tasks and logs, Log;
    - Choose the log entry which contains errors and make right-click on it;
    - Select save option and specify the desired location for the log file to save to;
    - Attach the log file to your next post.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  13. blofeld

    blofeld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I am having the same problem.

    I am using build 9770 of ATIH2009. I have just employed the method described below to give me a number of full backups on a rolling basis. All works fine until the first and subsequent time that the consolidation deletes the oldest backup - that's when I get the 'backup date was not found' error (see item 17 in the attached log file)

    **************
    1) At the "Backup method" step choose either "Incremental" or "Differential" method, select the "Create a new full backup after" checkbox and set "0" (zero) in the number of backups field. This will result in creating only full backups, but, in addition, will enable the "Automatic consolidation" step (disabled for the "Full" backup method), which will be needed for ensuring automatic deletion of the oldest backup.
    2) At the "Automatic consolidation" step select the "Number of backups exceeds" checkbox and set a limit of 4 backups.
    The program will create 4 full backups, then on the 5th run it will create a fifth backup thus exceeding the limit set on the number of backups. ATIH can't consolidate full backups, so it will simply delete the oldest one. This procedure will be repeated during the next task run, etc.
    **************

    The log goes on to say that the operation succeeded and indeed there is an image, but the log shows as a failure - which do I believe?
     
  14. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    If what you are looking for is a number of full backups without using inc. or diff. or consolidation you can do what I did.
    I created a backup task for a full backup. The only problem is that it will overwrite the old one so you only have the most recent backup. Not a good thing if the problem you wish to recover from happened before the last backup. I solved this by putting in a pre command to rename the previous back up to a name that contained the date. This way the previous backup named by date and the one just made., name by Acronis TI are available. This can go on and on so that you have backups stretching as far back as you wish. Eventually the disk will fill up with backups no longer needed. To solve this I put in a post batch command that would delete files after so many backups. The only thing I have to work out is the scheduler. The TI scheduler I have been having nothing but trouble with.
    Bill

    PS:
    I have attached the pre and post batch files for you to use. Edit the file name defiles.txt to the number files you wish to delete and rename-backup.txt as needed. Save each as a .bat file
     

    Attached Files:

  15. blofeld

    blofeld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Bill,

    Thanks for your prompt reply. Shame that we have to work out how to do these somewhat somewhat basic tasks ourselves by resorting to batch files.

    Not quite sure about your delfiles.bat - I do not have a c:\scripts\delolder app where does this come from?

    Regards,

    David
     
  16. blockie

    blockie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Sorry, Dave
    I forgot it. Howevber, it is an .exe file. How can I send it to you? My email is "blockie@sbcglobal.net"
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.