Backs up to CD, but not DVD?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by AngelArs, Jan 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AngelArs

    AngelArs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    We just purchased TrueImage 8.0 and we were wondering why we can back up to the hard disk, and to a CD, but not to a DVD? :doubt:

    It keeps saying that the media 'might' be bad, but we've tried every brand of media there is, and it never works (same media works with all other programs). I could post a screen shot of the error message if you need to see it.

    What else could be causing this? Thanks.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello AngelArs,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    Please make sure you use UDF-formatted DVDs. Also please note that Acronis True Image does not support DVD-R. Please try to set your DVD burner speed to less than maximum.

    If this doesn't help please contact support@acronis.com. Our Support Team will help you to solve the problem.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  3. AngelArs

    AngelArs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    Where (or how) do we find out if it's UDF-formatted? We've searched three major brands and none of them mention anything about being "UDF-formatted".

    Also, does it matter if they are DVD+R or DVD+RW[/QUOTE]
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello AngelArs,

    They don't come preformatted. You need to format them via your UDF packet writing software e.g. Ahead's InCD or Roxio's Drag-to-Disk.


    You can use either DVD-RW or DVD+RW with any UDF packet writing software. However, although I've never used it, I believe that only Roxio's Drag-to-Disk will work with DVD+R.

    Please have a read of this <thread>, including the embeded links, if you require further information.

    Regards
     
  5. AngelArs

    AngelArs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    OK thanks, I'm formatting it now via Drag to Disk. I'll test it and see how it works, but are you saying that CD's come pre-formatted, but DVD's don't?

    The reason why I ask is becuase all I needed to do was to insert a CD and TrueImage used it correctly, but inserting a DVD wouldn't work...
     
  6. AngelArs

    AngelArs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    OK this question is for anyone who knows the answer ;)

    Formatting was the answer, and it will now record to the DVD, but why is there such a huge time difference in making the image?

    When I made the image on my hard drive it literally took 15 minutes. The same exact image being made on a DVD is almost 6 hours :eek:

    Why so much longer? :doubt:
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello AngelArs,

    We are glad to hear you have solved the problem of writing to DVDs. Acronis True Image supports DVD+R, DVD+RW and DVD-RW so there will be no difference if you use one of these formats.

    As for the difference between CDs and DVDs. Acronis True Image works with unformatted CDs and preformatted DVDs that is why you could use CDs immidiately after you purchased them but needed to prepare you DVD before using with Acronis True Image.

    As regards the creation speed. The writing speed to HDD is in general higher than that for CD and even more so for DVD. This seems to be the main reason.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  8. howie123

    howie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    I have had great success with TI8 and DVD+R by creating images on a hard drive first and then, using Nero's "Create UDF DVD" feature, burn the images to DVD+R. There's no need to have DirectCD, InCD or any other packet-writing software installed using this method. I have done full restores several times using DVD+R's burned this way and it's yet to fail me... :)
     
  9. wokoenig

    wokoenig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    Hello, ( I hope Support is reading too)
    you are to envy.
    Since TI6, TI7 and now TI 8 (with latest patch) I never can burn a funftionally backup image to DVD. It's always corrupted.
    I have tried is with my old DVD Burner and now with the multi DVD Burner LG DVDRAM GSA-4082B.
    I create the Images first to HD.
    I did try several DVDs:
    DVD-R, DVD-RW , DVD-RAM. Then I read now, that DVD-R is not supported.
    I did buy today DVD+R.-> The Image is corrupted.

    Before, all DVDs are burned with Nero (latest Version 6.x9). I did choose UDF 1.02, 1.50.
    I did make with INCD formate a DVD RW and burned directly from TI.
    I did the Imagefile ( 3,7 GB) unsplitted, split to 2GB, split to 700 MB parts for copy to the DVD.
    Nothing was helpfull.
    Under Windows sometimes the Image was fine.
    The Image Explorer could everytime show the content of the DVD correctly in a new drive.
    Everytime the Imagefiles on the HD were correct.

    Only with the Bootcd or the Startup of Acronis and verify the Image on DVD: Image is corrupted. :-(

    I did write to Acronis support, but 8 weeks for an answer is too long.

    I love TI from the first day.
    Its better than the other Imageprograms.
    BUT THIS POINT is BAD!!

    I can burn correctly images to DVD with Paragon Drive Backup and Partition Backup von Simon Tools and other Imagetools.

    It's a pity.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Wolfgang,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.

    We suggest that you update your DVD burner firmware and UDF packet software as well.

    We do know about the problems with our German Support. If the steps mentioned above do not help please send a letter with the link to this thread to support@acronis.com. We will definitely help you to solve the problem.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  11. A|ex

    A|ex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    its a pity true image always goes crazy on me in dos. IT refused to burn to my dvd media saying that the dvd media isnt support/ good enough for acronis. dvd firmware etc is updated fully too
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello A|ex,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.

    We regret to inform you that current version of Acronis True Image doesn't write to DVD directly. Instead, it uses third-party UDF writing software. When you boot from Acronis Bootable CD you don't have any software of this type available. that is why you cannot burn to DVD in this case. However you may restore the image from DVD after booting from Acronis Bootable CD.

    We expect the ability to write to DVD directly to be implemented in future versions of Acronis True Image.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  13. A|ex

    A|ex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    when is acronis going to support dvd-r because dvd-r is one of the most popular standards of dvds
     
  14. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello A|ex,

    Our Development Team is working on the implementation of DVD-R format. The support of this option will be announced on this forum as soon as this work is completed.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  15. badger

    badger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Lincoln,Lincs UK
    Please can yoou tell me how you "create a UDF DVD "in Nero 6. I have searched the help files and cannot find anything . No mention of expert view and onlt UDF in the glossary. I ask because I want to make an image using Acronis. Thanks.
     
  16. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello badger,

    I can suggest that you look Nero User's Guide that is added to your software. If you cannot find anything please contact Nero Support Team.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  17. mareke

    mareke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    200
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    You have to install the In CD part of Nero to do it. Since I don't like In CD and I have never tried to get Acronis to write an image directly to DVD I don't install In CD but once it is installed I presume you can easily format a rewriteable DVD by right clicking on the In CD icon or the DVD and choosing format or some sort of similar procedure (someone else that has In CD installed should be able to describe the exact method). If you merely want to copy an Acronis image from a hard disk to DVD all you have to do is choose the second last option DVD-ROM(UDF).
     
  18. badger

    badger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Lincoln,Lincs UK
    Thank you mareke. That is what I want to do as you say "merely copy an Acronis Image from a hard disk to DVD" I cannot find anywhere to choose an option.Am I missing something? Can you help me further please.
    I do not use In CD,as like you I do not like it. I understood that it writes to Rewritable disks anyway.
     
  19. mareke

    mareke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    200
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    What you want to do is easy. Open Nero and make sure in the box that opens called New Compilation DVD is chosen as the media to write to and also make sure you have chosen your DVD burner at the top for doing the writing and then choose the second last option DVD-ROM(UDF) on the left in the New Compilation box. I tell my DVD writer to write at no more than 4 speed because accuracy is crucial even though I have a 16 speed writer and I tell Nero to verify the data on the DVD after it is written. Of course when you got Acronis to make the image you should have specified a maximum size of say 4 GB so it can fit onto a DVD. Simple!
     
  20. badger

    badger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Lincoln,Lincs UK
    Thank you so very much mareke. I know and remember exactly which window you mean. but I no longer get the screen you are referring to. I am using Nero 6, and I seem to have Nero startsmart &/or Nero Express.So I think that is where my problem lies. Do not know if you will be able to help me any further.
     
  21. mareke

    mareke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Posts:
    200
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    When Nero Start Smart opens choose Data Disc and on my computer you can choose to switch to Nero Burning Rom at the bottom and then do what I described before. If you can't do this on your computer I don't know what you can do.
     
  22. badger

    badger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Lincoln,Lincs UK
    Got it. Thank you so much for your help. I do appreciate it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.