Backing up to flash drives

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by chattycathy, Jul 20, 2016.

  1. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    I have a laptop that I thought I would put Windows 10 on. But, before I do, I would like to make a backup of my Windows 7. I have a 1TB flash drive I tried to use with the free version of Macrium Reflect 6 but it hasn't worked. It backs up and I get the message that says it finished successfully but when I try to mount it, it says "Warning: Not complete! Missing file". I have uninstalled and reinstalled, tried to do other backups but all of them give me the same messages. Is there a free program out there that will backup to flash drives? I hardly ever use this laptop so I hate to have to purchase something just for it. I hate the thoughts of updating to Windows 10 without a reliable backup. Any ideas are welcome.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    Hi CC

    Strange, I have a 500gb Transcend flash drive and it works fine on my Lenovo laptop. I back it up all the time with Macrium Workstation. My only other thought is if Win 7 is working fine on the laptop why mess with it. What are you wanting from Win 10.
     
  3. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Just the fact that it's free is all I want from Windows 10. I thought I would get it for my laptop to have on down the road if I really needed it. This way I wouldn't have to buy a license for it AND my desktop. My Windows 7 Pro seems to be working fine. I haven't had any problems with it. This is the free version I'm using, could that be the difference in the Workstation edition?
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    CC, can you give us the make'n'model of that 1tB FLASH drive (USB connected?)... and let us know whether it shows up under Windows as a REMOVABLE or a LOCAL (fixed) drive?

    PS- I, like Peter, have done many successfull images to USB-connected UFDs.
     
  5. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The reason I ask about the 1-terabyte UFD is because I see them from $11.99 (Chinese knockoff) to $638.00 (Kingston Predator)... that's a bit more than just a USB3 vs USB2 issue methinks :rolleyes:
     
  6. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    All I can tell you is, it says on the top, "USBOTG" It doesn't give a make or model. But, when I plug it in, Windows shows it as a REMOVABLE.
     
  7. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    There are many of these knockoff drives that show up under Windows at capacities greater than 500gB, and when tested will write that much data... but when read, most of the data written is missing and drives turn out to be only 2-8gB max.

    Here's a youtube tester that has been testing some of these... you just may have been scammed on this item.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xJfC3jCPXM&t=0s
     
  8. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    ...and the OTG Model just happens to be the one being tested by the YouTuber...
     
  9. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Just as a note... if you wound up with one of those "knockoff" drives, and you didn't have the VERIFY option on when you did the imaging backup, the error Macrium Reflect gave you is most likely correct (as the image would not be there in its entirety). If the VERIFY option was on, Reflect would have informed you before the end of the backup that something was amiss.

    If it's a recent buy, I would go for a REFUND, if possible.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    I would stick with Transcend. They have many flavors, but none have ever let you down. You do get what you pay for.
     
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    To my knowledge, Kingston is the only manufacturer shipping a fully operational 1-terabyte UFD (as of 09July2016)... and at a cost of appx. $750 RETAIL for a USB3 version (no one would make a USB2 version of something that big anyway). There are some 512gB drives available also at a cost of about $250 RETAIL.

    How the heck these Chinese 1tB and 2tB UFDs are even on the market (and selling) is more than I know... they just don't work if capacity tested properly.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2016
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
  13. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Well... in the true sense it is :) , but that's not quite what I call a UFD... a li'l too big for my pocket/keychain :cool:

    There's a few of those USB-connected SSDs around but owners have to realize that they are not TRIM supported by the Windows operating system to extend their life. They will degrade over time just as UFDs do with a lot of WRITE use.
     
  14. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Is there a way to find out just what size it "really" is? If so, how?
     
  15. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    I used once the HP Format utility and the real capacity was revealed...
     
  16. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    CC, the problem is that those type of UFDs are basically rigged. What that means is, if you have what you think is a 1-terabyte device and you try and test its capability, you need to write a terabyte of data and read it back to make sure it's all there. Those type of devices actually keep writing over a small amount of storage (they seem to be between 2gB and 8gB) until the 1tB has been written.

    Then a read process will start reading the DATA it thinks was written, and when the process reaches the end of the real drive size, it will start getting errors during the read pass.

    Since these devices are USB2, and from what I've seen a very slow USB2 device (5-5mB/sec), it'll take about 55-hrs to complete the WRITE portion of the test before the READ portion even starts... that's over 2-days before the WRITE is complete.

    A better way to test would be to WRITE a file a little over 2gB in size then check to make sure it's OK... if so, try over 4gB, then over 8gB until it fails. It's tough to completely test these things.

    There is a simple FREE tester HERE called H2testw. It starts in the German language but will allow a switch to ENGLISH. You can select the amount of gigabytes to test (or the whole drive which will take a very long time before you see an error) and it will run a write/read pass on that amount of storage. I would suggest sizes of 3gB, 5gB and 9gB to start with to see where the failure occurs.

    I will almost guarantee a failure. There's no way TWO reputable UFD manufacturers can produce 1tB drives with a difference in price of $738... get a REFUND if you can.
     
  17. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    I wouldn't try to test the full HDD before reformatting : using this kind of program definitely killed the counterfeit USB flash key I was investigating at that time. You may also try another more recent program to reformat the SSD using Rufus (portable).
     
  18. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Thanks to all of you for your responses. I will do these tests later. I am leaving shortly so I'll get to it when I get back. Not because I doubt your word but because this has made me curious on what size it really is. Thanks again!
     
  19. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    CC, please let us know what you find out...
     
  20. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Well, as the saying goes, "I have egg all over my face". It is 8.07 GB.
     
  21. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    It's not your fault... just very flakey marketing for products like that. People get excited when they see that kind of storage (just saw a 2tB stick for $17.99) and put an awful lot of trust in the sources of things like that. You just need to look at what's being offered... and if it's too good to be true, it most likely is.

    PS- that's what the tester in the video found with his OTG device... just a little over 8gB. Sorry for your loss :ouch:
     
  22. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Thanks! I'll just have to look at it as a lesson learned "the hard way". I do appreciate everyone's help with this.
     
Loading...