backing up NOD32 settings

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by iHz, Nov 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iHz

    iHz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Hey, I have nod32 v2.7, and i was just wondering how do you backup all the user preferences, so that if its uninstalled, then re-installed or upraded to v3, I can put all settings back to previous.



    TIA.
     
  2. Sir George

    Sir George Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Right click the task bar icon and select "Open Window". I use the advanced mode, so to follow my instructions be sure you are also in "Advanced Mode".

    Select: Setup>Import/Export settings... (located on the right hand portion of the screen). Be sure the button for "Export" is selected and provide a file name in the caption box.

    Eset Image.gif
     
  3. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    export the whole Eset folder from the registry.

    Use Regedit

    1. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    2. SOFTWARE
    3. ESET - select folder, right-click on it and export whole folder to your own location.

    When re-installing Nod32, before restarting pc, install exported reg. (double click on it) and your whole Nod32 is installed with prior configuration, including user/pass!!!!
    When upgrading Nod32, export again to get the proper info again, otherwise it will put the prior version back again.
     
  4. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    He's using 2.7 and your explanation is for 3.0
     
  5. iHz

    iHz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    woops, sorry didnt realise it was v3 forum.

    So If I upgrade to v3, all my preferences are saved from v2, and all i have to do is then perform the export as sir george mentioned?

    But if I un-install and install v3 from scratch, then importing the v2.7 reg file wont work?

    also, when I right click the Eset folder and choose export, do i check "all" or "selected branch"?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Your settings are all saved from v2 when upgrading to v3......apply: use settings. Then export to an XML file and import it when re-installing.
    You can also backup v3 as explained for the registry, but I'm not sure the folders are the same, you would have to make sure. If there's a folder named Eset, just export the whole folder. When re-installing, just import this exported folder again. That's it!
    But importing the v2 reg file into v3......I wouldn't know, but I wouldn't do it myself. When using v3....make sure you export the setting right away and keep it for future installations. It's as easy as it can be.
     
  7. iHz

    iHz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    54
    Thanks for the help :)
     
  8. Sir George

    Sir George Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    You are indeed correct. Since the post was in the Nod32 Ver 3.X forum, I just posted with no further thought. (Senior moment for me) :)
     
  9. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    You're welcome ;)
     
  10. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    I know those moments! ;)
     
  11. Caine

    Caine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Posts:
    63
    If I read this correctly you are advising to install v3 fresh, and immediately export the (empty/unchanged) registry folder for v3. Then try importing the v2.7 reg, and in the case of some problem/issue you at least have the 'empty' and correct registry folder for v3 to fall back on?
    But you would then have all your settings back as the default in that particular case, no?

    You also mentioned exporting the v2.7 settings to an XML file. Could you clarify this procedure a bit more please? (you don't need to go to the trouble of screenshots or anything, just how to navigate to the 'export XML file' part in v2.7)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.