Backed up 2 Hard disks with one archive - how many hard disk do I need to recover to?

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by alexis1, Jul 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alexis1

alexis1 Registered Member

Hi - Apologies ahead of time for using naive terminology, I'm a newbie to anything much beyond powering up the computer ...

I use a program (Cubase) that simultaneously accesses two basic disks on my XP Home desktop, the C:/ drive (which has two partitions: one with the OS, Program files etc.; and the other one with some music samples, and a recovery disk file that came with the computer) and the E:/ drive (a RAID disk that has a lot of .wav files, among other things). I backed both these disks to one archive, which tests out just fine (Integrity Test).

I'd like to restore these disks and try to run my programs from the recovery disk(s) so I can prove to myself that I'll be able to do this in the future if my desktop hardware burns up or something like that.

I went out and bought a hard drive to recover to. But after reading the manual some more I started wondering: can I only restore 1 disk at a time ... and if I tried to restore two disks to the same recovery disk, would the 1st disk restored be erased when I restored the 2nd disk to the same recovery hard drive?

Do I need to buy TWO recovery hard drives, and recover the C:/ drive to one, and the E:/ drive to the other? Or can I somehow recover both of them to 1 recovery hard drive ... maybe with some kind of partition management?

Thanks much for your help!

2. cincinnatijack

cincinnatijack Registered Member

Just do the recovery into one HDD that is larger then the original HDD's, recover each partition individually, during the recovery process you will be given the option to generate partitions on the recovery HDD and size them to be able to run all you programs from one HDD.