Back-up Scanner

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by colorado13, May 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. colorado13

    colorado13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    117
    Location:
    Orihuela, Spain
    Which one is the best between drwebcureit and escan antivirus toolkit 4.4.7 as a back-up scanner?
    Could you reccomend something better?
    thanks in advance
     
  2. tahoma

    tahoma Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Posts:
    228
    if u mean MicroWorld AntiVirus Toolkit Utility it cant delete or disinfect, just scan. but its kav powered so it will find the malwares. cureit can clean and delete, but drweb, even tho i love it, isnt as good as kav dtection wise. use both
     
  3. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
  4. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Yeah I would say CureIT and the MW toolkit are two very good, free, on-demand AV scanners, I currently only have CureIT, but plan to add the MW toolkit soon. Bitdefender also has a good free (for a year) edition if you can live with the extra services it needs to run all the time, I did not like that so CureIT ended up being right for me, no extra stuff, heck it does not even need to be installed!
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    For a backup scanner, I would choose avast! Home Edition or AntiVir Personal Edition, because they are free, good detection, and don't need to have always some services processes enabled like BitDefender Free Edition... ;)

    Or you can use an free Online scanner like BitDefender ScanOnline, Panda ActiveScan or TREND MICRO House Call... :)
     
  6. BornMember

    BornMember Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Posts:
    75
  7. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,086
    What services processes need to be disabled and why ?

    What are they for ?
     
  8. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I don't remember the name of the process or processes...

    But I remember that you need them to can run the BitDefender Free...

    So you can make one of these two things:
    1. Just have that processes always enabled and consuming useful resources
    OR
    2. Disable that processes and when you want to run the AV, enable them manually...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.