Back Up Error HDM 2011

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by p4psb, Jul 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. p4psb

    p4psb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,

    Help please!

    Started getting error when backing up my OS drive. Backing up other drives is fine.
    I get the VSS: Can't read volume data error.

    Previous backups ran without error.

    If I run the same backup using the Paragon Hot Processing and the backup is fine.
    Ran chkdsk-no problems found.
    Ran Seatools for Windows (it is a Seagate HDD)-no problems found.

    Any help gratefully received.

    Thanks,
    Paul.
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I'll be interested in reading the answers to this. My friend had a VSS error and switched to the Paragon Hot Processing method which solved the problem. According to him there is a large number of possible causes for VSS errors and this was the easy way to get around it. He was using the free B&R 2011 program.
     
  3. wptski

    wptski Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    USA
    Not sure if this would help or not but I'm using HDM2011S v10.0.17.13146 or what they call build 11746 since late April. I see now there is v10.0.17.13624 which would be build 11724. I have no idea when it was posted and we never know what new builds fix.
     
  4. p4psb

    p4psb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    If I change the setting to Paragon Hot Processing permanently, apart from knowing that the backup will run OK, will this make any other differences?
     
  5. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    No. Paragon Hot processing is an alternative for the sutuations when VSS doesn't work.

    But I would recommend you to check VSS first:
    1. Right click on My Computer icon and select Manage
    2. Select 'Services and Applications' - 'Services' in tree-view on the left.
    3. Find 'Volume Shadow Copy' service in the list and double-click it to open the service properties 4. Click the Startup type list, click Automatic, and then click Apply.
    5. Under Service status, click Start if service is stopped OR click Stop first and then Start if service is running.
    6. Click OK.
     
  6. p4psb

    p4psb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,

    VSS is set to automatic. Just to be certain, I stopped and restarted it, then restarted the PC, then tried to run a backup. Unfortunately the same result!

     
  7. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    You can try to change hot processing settings:
    in HDM full scale go to Tools - Settings - Hot Processing options
    check if it is enabled, set flag "Switch between technologies" to ON, select option "Use VSS when partition is locked".

    Then if VSS fails to start Paragon Hot Processing will be used automatically.
     
  8. p4psb

    p4psb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    I had already found that, unfortunately that does not work!

     
  9. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    Could you please send me stubact.log from C:\program files\Paragon Software\Hard Disk manager 2011\program\ in private message?
    I need to have a look at your config.
     
  10. p4psb

    p4psb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,

    Tried to send the PM, unfortunately the text keeps disappearing.
    Is there a way to send it as an attachment?

     
  11. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    @p4psb,

    I've sent you instructions how to upload files to FTP. Please use them to upload the log file.
     
  12. p4psb

    p4psb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,

    Should be there, see private message.

     
  13. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    I've checked your log. there is nothing unusual.

    I would recommend to check if there are BitLocker errors in system log:
    * right-click Computer and select Manage
    * Go to Event Viewer - Windows logs - System.
    * check if there are BitLocker driver errors when backup via VSS failed.

    If there are such errors. try to disable BitLocker :
    1. Click Start, click Control Panel, click System and Security, and then click BitLocker Drive Encryption.
    2. Find the drive on which you want BitLocker Drive Encryption turned off, and click Turn Off BitLocker.
    3. A message is displayed, informing you that the drive will be decrypted and that decryption may take some time. Click Decrypt the drive to continue and turn off BitLocker on the drive.
    Then start HDM and check if VSS starts correctly.
     
  14. p4psb

    p4psb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    I do not have bitlocker enabled - I disabled it in the early days of Win7!

     
  15. p4psb

    p4psb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Spent some time over the weekend investigating and searching the net.

    Used various Disk tools, none found any problems.

    Downloaded 'MicrosoftFixit WinFileFolder' and it found and repaired a corrupted Recycle Bin!

    Have run 4 backups without a problem.

    So it seems fixed, hopefully!
     
  16. Mech_An

    Mech_An Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    855
    Glad to know you found the solution!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.