ayrecovery

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by waters, Feb 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Can i use returnil or shadow defender with ayrecovery.
     
  2. TechOutsider

    TechOutsider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    549
    If you use it within Returnil, the changes will be dropped unless you specficed otherwise. No point in using it within Returnil; just reboot.

    Also, be advised not to run Ayrecovery at all in Returnil; snapshots can take up a lot of space in Returnil's cache; by default it is only 5gb and you may run out of space.
     
  3. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    I think you mean can you have ayrecovery installed and then also install returnil. If returnil modifies the mbr then no. If it does not then yes. Hopefully someone can answer if it modifies the mbr or not as I couldnt find it on returnils site.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  4. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Tried with Shadow defender and no
     
  5. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    any reason y you would need to use returnil and rollback? I mean are you just trying to layer the security?

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.