AVs and cpu usage

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by WSFuser, Jun 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Do all antivirus use up the cpu (>90%) when extracting archives or similar?

    Sometimes WinRAR will stall for a few seconds as my av takes up the cpu. Its rather annoying :mad:
     
  2. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Depends on the settings of your AV, size of the archive, and contents of the archive.
    I have ran a few tests with VBA32(latest beta) and I am yet to have the scan process to use over 65% of the cpu during extraction just FYI :)
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    WSFuser are you using kis7.0?
    if so what settings do you have for fileav?
    lodore
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    One computer has ESS and the other NOD32.

    Strange thing is I never seemed to have problems before.
     
  5. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    You may want to check out process tamer. I run it at the default settings on all my computers and it runs great.

    BTW - It's free (don't know if it works with Vista).
     
  6. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    This really should be in the NOD forum as the problem is vendor specific.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It depends on the type of the file, sometimes it takes a couple of seconds to emulate the code. You can disable runtime packers and (or) advanced heuristics, but doing so will affect the ability to catch new threats to a large extent.
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    @The Hammer - I was posting about all AVs in general, but I wanted to correct lodore that Im using ESS/NOD32 and not KAV/KIS.

    @Marcos - Since youve replied, do you know if any missing Windows components could affect an AVs (not just NOD32) cpu usage?

    I use nLite to create a very slim WinXP install.
     
  9. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    Tnx for that tip...very handy indeed!
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    It didnt work with my nLited XP, so I gave Process Lasso a try instead. Lets see how well it works.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Not Avira.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.