AVs and cpu usage

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by WSFuser, Jun 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Do all antivirus use up the cpu (>90%) when extracting archives or similar?

    Sometimes WinRAR will stall for a few seconds as my av takes up the cpu. Its rather annoying :mad:
     
  2. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Depends on the settings of your AV, size of the archive, and contents of the archive.
    I have ran a few tests with VBA32(latest beta) and I am yet to have the scan process to use over 65% of the cpu during extraction just FYI :)
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,038
    WSFuser are you using kis7.0?
    if so what settings do you have for fileav?
    lodore
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    One computer has ESS and the other NOD32.

    Strange thing is I never seemed to have problems before.
     
  5. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    You may want to check out process tamer. I run it at the default settings on all my computers and it runs great.

    BTW - It's free (don't know if it works with Vista).
     
  6. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,666
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    This really should be in the NOD forum as the problem is vendor specific.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,411
    It depends on the type of the file, sometimes it takes a couple of seconds to emulate the code. You can disable runtime packers and (or) advanced heuristics, but doing so will affect the ability to catch new threats to a large extent.
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    @The Hammer - I was posting about all AVs in general, but I wanted to correct lodore that Im using ESS/NOD32 and not KAV/KIS.

    @Marcos - Since youve replied, do you know if any missing Windows components could affect an AVs (not just NOD32) cpu usage?

    I use nLite to create a very slim WinXP install.
     
  9. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    Tnx for that tip...very handy indeed!
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    It didnt work with my nLited XP, so I gave Process Lasso a try instead. Lets see how well it works.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,098
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Not Avira.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.