Avoiding installing spyware and toolbars with ccleaner (and others)

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Keatah, Sep 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    853
    Wait for the slim version. Or disconnect from the internet.

    Option 1 is, well, self-explanatory.

    Option 2: Typically when you d'l something, like CCleaner or CDburner XP or other programs with installers - These installers connect to the internet and download the unwanted mal-ware or spyware. Dare I say virus? (*) Then they ask you if you want to install the crap.

    But if you disconnect from the internet, then the installers tend to bypass even offering you the mal-ware. They can't reach the shovelware server. One way to keep your system clean.

    *My definition (and probably your's) of mal-ware, spyware, and viruses are simply programs that you do not want on your system because of various reasons. Perhaps they use resources, or do something with tracking cookies or watch your web surfing habits.
     
  2. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Why do you think unchecking these optional bundleware isn't enough for avoiding their installation? Have you heard of portable versions (that are released on the same day for CCleaner)? *Here's the proper word: crapware.
     
  3. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    853
    There are people (and advanced users) that like to use the installer versions.

    The crapware downloaded to your machine by the ccleaner probably leaves residue behind even if you un-check the offer box.
     
  4. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    224
    JFYI, CDBurnerXP provides an installer without OpenCandy. Go to the download section and select "more download options" underneath where it says download latest version.
     
  5. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    853
    Thanks for that!
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    I just installed something that comes with open candy. Only download one installer. But when I run NoVirusThanks ExeRadarPro, I always watch what an installer runs. One of things that popped up was an installer for Open Candy. I blocked it. Rest of installation went fine, and no open candy.

    Some free stuff like Adobe Reader asks first about the add on stuff, and if you don't select it it downloads a different installer. At least that's what it looks like.

    Pete
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  8. Snoop3

    Snoop3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    also helps if you have a firewall blocking all outbound connections from unknown progams. notice these crapware are already making connections to the internet and uploading data even before you have a chance to decline their installation. so most users probably think there's no harm but they already got profile of your computer.
     
  9. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Triassic
    Can you do this with Windows 7 Firewall?

    I put *opencandy.com and *.conduit.com in the restricted list under internet options, but I am not sure that it is enough.

    I just updated Imgburn (have never seen these spyware add-ons before...I have been using it for years). There was a search engine, toolbar and open candy installed. MBAM got rid of the conduit files, but it did not get rid of the toolbar (sweet tunes). I had to run adwcleaner to make that happen. When I 'agreed' to the T+C list, I assumed I would get an opt-out list so I could decline opencandy, conduit and the toolbar, however that did not happen. The T+C only mentioned opencandy, so IMO this was unethical.

    If Windows FW can not do this, do you have any other suggestions? I expect you will recommend I stay away from freeware, but as a donation once a year is appropriate, I feel it is OK to keep using their free offerings.
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    I doubt it will be that simple.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,057
    I saw something that was even scummier then the crappy installers. I was cleaning up a computer and uninstalling all this crap when I notice a box with a check on the uninstall confirmation.

    I almost clicked and then looked closely and dang if it was going install something else. Grrrr.
     
  12. Snoop3

    Snoop3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    if you go to PortableFreeware.com to download stuff, they check these programs over pretty well because they're looking for registry setting changes and other stuff so they find any adware installers and the program usually doesnt make it into the database or if it does they tell you how to install without it. Or Softpedia supposedly scans everything for adware and will mention if it has adware on the lower part of the page.

    also, maybe use a program like SmartSniff by Nirsoft to see if any internet connections are being made by the installers.

    edit:

    notice for ImgBurn they say to extract the setup file using Universal Extractor and then the adware can be avoided.

    http://www.portablefreeware.com/index.php?id=583
     
  13. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,718
    Last time I checked, CCleaner isn't offering toolbar anymore.

    Instead it offers to install Google Chrome and you can choose during the installation whether or not to install Chrome and to make it your default browser. If you already have the Google Chrome browser installed, it wouldn't even present you with any "crapware" options.

    Of course, ethics-wise it isn't the best option but it's a relatively small price to pay for a program like CCleaner. if you consider it from the business perspective, Piriform is kind enough to offer the free version for home users as it is.

    What's the fuss with all of the "waiting" for the Slim build all the time when CCleaner is updated to a newer build. You don't want the bundled Chrome, it's easy to avoid. If you insist on a clean "no-crapware" policy when it comes to your downloads, go ahead and wait for the "Slim" build. There.,,,simple. Definitely not rocket science.

    IMHO, Piriform is offering the Slim build out of courtesy for some users who wouldn't keep quiet otherwise. They know how vocal some users can be. Be glad that there are still users out there who don't mind compromising on such "annoyances" as part of returning the favor to Piriform financially even if they can't afford/wouldn't want to pay for CCleaner Pro.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,648
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Sure. We just don't care if you are "waiting" for the Slim build and we don't care if you are waiting for version 50.0 either. There is no need to post your intentions.
     
  15. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Sometimes it's good to wait and see if CCleaner's newest version has bugs. In the meantime I'll wait patiently for the Slim version while others "test" the new version :D.

    I also don't feel sorry for a company when I refuse their additional software offers. They are making plenty of money from those pour souls who click blindly though an installation. Thank goodness some vendors refuse to compromise. http://billpstudios.blogspot.com/2008/01/would-you-like-toolbar-with-your.html

    Have you ever heard that saying give somebody an inch and they'll take a mile? This is the way I feel about opt-out bundled software. What's next? Programs that include ads and collect data on its users just like most free and paid smart phone / tablet apps. It's a slippery slope and that is why we should be cautious.
     
  16. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    for opencandy, those servers are included in the latest MVPS Hosts file :

    tracking.opencandy.com.s3.amazonaws.com
    media.opencandy.com
    cdn.opencandy.com
    tracking.opencandy.com
    api.opencandy.com

    see also
    -http://dottech.org/123619/how-to-block-opencandy-windows-xp-vista-7-8-guide/


    for conduit :

    hosting.conduit.com
    apps.conduit-banners.com
    -www.conduit-banners.com-
    conduit-in.com
    -www.conduit-in.com-
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2013
  17. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    So we do for all our products : "Lite" installers with NO SPONSORS at all.
    Download page : http://www.kcsoftwares.com/?download
     
  18. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    You can launch any OpenCandy bundled installer with the /nocandy command line argument.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.