AVLab.pl -- Perfomance Test (Oct.-Nov. 2014)

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ArchiveX, Nov 24, 2014.

  1. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,016
  2. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Not unexpected, Norton 2015 tested Best+++. Surprisingly, Webroot down in the middle of the pack. Forticlient 5 and GData getting Best+++, but I keep telling people if Forticlient has enough time on your machine it will become fairly light.

    I should probably take a look at Gdata and try to resolve the FP's.. LOL... How is Gdata for PUP/PUA, and Reputation type of stuff? My daughter is genius at infecting systems with traditional AV's installed.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2014
  3. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    Thanks for sharing this test. MSE on the bottom? I knew it was heavy, but didn't expect last place.
     
  4. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    In this test I am unconcerned with Ram Use, and CPU Idle as most systems I use have 4-8 cores, and 8-16GB of ram, as well as usages during scanning. Of slight concern are startup/shutdown times, but in a world of SSD's with 8 second startups - not much of an issue. Size on HD is such a useless statistic, who doesn't have huge drives?

    But the copying, unarchiving/archiving seem to be what I would concern myself with the most at least. eSCAN used to be very heavy, it looks like they moved entirely to the cloud, but I read detections have plummeted with it.
     
  5. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    350
    Lol webroot are not even there on. One picture
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    We will wait till the next Passmark Bench Test to see correctly.

    TH

    Yea I seen that very professional. LOL
     
  7. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I like that they threw out scan times. Just like they said.... a thorough scan is much more important than the scan time.

    While these parameters are not as important to me as antimalware effectiveness, this information is still useful to judge the overall product.

    I keep thinking McAfee (by Intel) is coming back... and they keep being mediocre.

    In my household, we have ZoneAlarm on one computer, and I've always sorta liked it. But it looks to be really inefficient by this test.

    MSE should not be both the worst and the most inefficient product. It was not that long ago in this forum that there were many fanboys of MSE... but those days are rightly gone.
     
  8. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    This test, AV-test, and AV-C's performance tests all show different results. Luckily I don't chose products based on test results. :isay:
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I don't think there are very big differences which would be decisive in selecting one over the rest. To me, detection remains the number one priority and system impact can only be assessed on an individual basis as systems even with similar hardware are all different in terms of software. Avira is almost unnoticeable on my 2 computers except for start up on Win 8 which is delayed by about 20 seconds. I only start up my machines once or twice in 24 hours therefore 20 seconds is nothing.
     
  10. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    I had to stop using Avira due to the slow startups. Dealing with a dozen machines at home, to hear incessant complaints of slow startup was a non-starter. In some cases the startup was 3, 4 even 5 times slower with Avira. When a machine starts in 5-8 seconds, adding 20-60 seconds to startup can feel like an eternity. Avira has been scratched off my list for their inability to fix this.
     
  11. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Complaining about 60 second startup? Lol
     
  12. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    I'd complain about a 10 sec delay, 60 seconds is in no way acceptable
     
  13. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    I start to complain when my startup exceeds 10 seconds.. Profusely so when it exceeds 15 seconds.
     
  14. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    ... and shutdown time increasing from 2-3 seconds to 1 minute... Any Av with such effect on startup/shutdown time will not run on my system.
     
  15. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Ditto, I'd rather run with the worst AV or no AV than to cripple my system. Luckily there are good solutions that don't cripple the system down :)
     
  16. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Interestingly, people complain Norton causes 5-20 minute shutdowns on PCs. I've never witnessed this - thankfully - or I would uninstall it.
     
  17. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    The only thing I noticed, after a reboot, if I right click on a file, it takes like 30 secs for the context menu to show up. then it loads fast everytime for every file.

    Maybe it's the fact that this is not a clean Win 7 installation as I usually have because I tried many AVs and uninstalled them BUT using their proper uninstall tools.........

    can you reboot please, then as soon as you see the desktop, go to your pictures folder and right click on a picture file see if it shows the context menu right away or it takes time
     
  18. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    I will check when I get home.

    I recommend testing AV's in a VM environment, or purchase a cheap laptop to do this so you don't cloud up the main machines. I walked into a pawn store a few weeks ago, some kid brought in an i7 Elitebook, dirty as hell, full of viruses, the pawn guy sold it to me for $50 no questions asked. I got it home, flattened it, and it's now my 'test' machine, works perfectly though, i7 w/8GB ram, and a 250GB SSD for $50? WIN.. I tend to be very cautious what I deploy to the main machines here to avoid this kind of thing.
     
Loading...