Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,807
    http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=154333

     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2013
  2. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,892
    Location:
    US
    Thanks. Im gonna wait until the product auto updates. What are exactly the changes to the toolbar in the free version?
     
  3. littleturle

    littleturle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Avira is always my favor. I will try the new version soon tonight.

    :D :D
     
  4. phyniks

    phyniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Posts:
    258
    I hope Avira's new updates make it faster and more responsive.

    Although it s light on system but it s not that fast itself.

    manual scans (and mini s after every detection) takes too long to start from 0%
     
  5. paniccom

    paniccom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Posts:
    100
    You'll have to wait, I think. I just DL from Avira's site and got the old version with the same 'Expert Mode' choice, etc. Did manual update after, and informed I'm up to date. (13.0.0.3640)
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  6. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,892
    Location:
    US
    so anybody installed the new version? any issueso_O
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,807
    Re read the changelog (post #451).

    Further to “Expert mode” , there is nothing more to notice.
    Whatever has been changed, it's under the hood.
     
  8. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,892
    Location:
    US
    under the hood changes are always very welcomed. these usually are bug fixes,etc... btw thanks for the PM.
     
  9. aaa839

    aaa839 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Yes Avira is partnering Uniblue Before at the news at 2011
    but now can you say still partnering
    I couldn't find any information of that
    it was dropped the partnership with Uniblue already!

    Anyway the toolbar installation got change...
    it can be choose just install it with out change you default search engine and homepage
    or Just disagree that,
    if you are disagree the toolbar installer will not copy to the installation folder
    also it will not run in background anymore and you can't install it from modified your installation
    also the toolbar remove some feature in ie
    Website safety advisor removing from CallindID to build from avira itself
    No more Browser Tracking Blocker in IE
    Chrome will have same feature as ff did.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2013
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,807
    Avira:

    Upgrade of older consumer products to Version 2013
    July 5, 2013
    http://techblog.avira.com/2013/07/05/upgrade-of-older-consumer-products-to-version-2013/en/

     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
  11. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,051
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    Sad news for anyone that wants to continue using an older version. If the signature updates work across all versions, I fail to see how this is an issue economically for Avira. However, if this move pushes those users towards a competitor that doesn't force upgrades to the latest version it will.

    Thanks for the info 7anon.
     
  12. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,751
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
  13. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    The detection level of AV13 after update 15 will be so much higher, it does not make any sense to use older versions of the product.
     
  14. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    Any evidence and why/how/what makes the new version's detection rate so much higher? Please advise. I like discussions based on evidence not just words.


     
  15. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    They are adding the Avira Protection Cloud. Not sure exactly what it does, but that's why detection will be higher. Given how high it already is, it'll be interesting to see how much higher it goes.

    If they got rid of the nag screen that pops up every login, I would consider recommending it again.
     
  16. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Just as license expired for Avira I.S. 2012...and I received An offer to renew from Avira for $33.79 for 1yr...I went to Purplus and purchased it for $19.95 1yr. Now I Downloaded the New 2013 version and submitted the license key due to the fact that Purplus was the 2012 version. And I got rid of the Ask Toolbar Rubbish...and must admit I'm Very Impressed with 2013's performance super smooth... no lagging on either Chrome...Opera...or I.E.10...there have been some larger file updates downloaded the last couple of days...so their appears to be a lot of the under the hood updates. This on my system is the most stable Avira product to date. Very interesting! Sincerely...Securon
     
  17. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,255
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    I wish they would stop auto scanning the PC after it removes a threat.
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,807
  19. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,807
    =
    That's what Stefan said.

    That's what Sorin Mustaca (Product Manager) said.

    Therefore I assume that reason for higher detection rates will be the APC.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  21. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    If the final testing and QA goes well, update 15 will contain the first version of real-time APC scanning. So far, only the quick system scan uses APC.

    We work alot with the detection modules that are used inside APC in our daily malware work and see how effective they are. We also tested if the missed samples from AV-Comparatives or AV-Test real-world tests would have been detected by APC.
     
  22. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    Could you consider trying to get them to get rid the nag ad? I don't mind an ad, but from what I remember, it was an almost full-screen ad about upgrading to a paid Avira. Maybe an in-the-GUI ad or a small popup ad near the system tray?
     
  23. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    I would like this very much too....
     
  24. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    +1 :thumb:
     
  25. ZeroDay

    ZeroDay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Posts:
    714
    Location:
    UK
    So is APC available in the free version now?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.