Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,007
    Sounds like Avira is doing the same nonsense that Avast did, feature creep..... No thanks....
     
  2. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,438
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    You mean by installing Avira free you get Phantom and System speedup installed by default? In Avira Pro it is an option, although I have always used the offline installer and custom install so I'm not sure whether any other way would install them by default.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,438
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I don't know about Avira free, but the Pro version I'm running is only an antivirus with no impact whatsoever on 2 machines. I'm running Avast free on my Vista machine (Avira, alas does not support Vista anymore) and I was able to run only the antivirus. I'm quite impressed by Avast and it has also no performance impact.
     
  4. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    I just started using avira_free on alternative win7x64 (not this one) and the system_speedup was a killer on that pc. I don't see how to disable it from settings, so whenever I reboot and avira starts, I kill the speedup exe or module (whatever) and then ariva seems pretty light, so far. still deciding what I think about it, only been about a week. I'm going on its av-test scores and performance scores, which have been among the best lately.
     
  5. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    I just installed free about a week ago. I know that vpn did not install and I probably had option and did not. I'm guessing I opted-in on speedup as that pc (not this one) needed a speedup, and I ran speedup, did what it suggested, marginal change in performance, if any, but every time the it reboots, speedup autoruns, seemingly forever and uses tons of resources, so now I just kill speedup asap, and otherwise free seems relatively light.
     
  6. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Germany
    To prevent confusion:

    Avira Free Security Suite = A bundle witch contains Avira Free Antivirus, Avira Phantom and Avira Free System Speedup.

    If just an AV is needed --> Avira Free Antivirus! This comes without additional tools (Connect is mandatory).

    Best,

    Arthur
     
  7. Amanda

    Amanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Brasil
    All you have to do is remove it. Open Control Panel, then "Programs and features", and remove it. :)
     
  8. Amanda

    Amanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Brasil
    Yes, it's be default now. They used to let you install them or not in the past.

    Oh, it's too late for me to get the offline installer :p But where I can I get it?
     
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,009
    Avira Download Center ("More Versions" = Offline installers)
    http://www.avira.com/en/downloads

    Avira Antivirus offline installer
    https://install.avira-update.com/package/antivirus/win/en-us/avira_antivirus_en-us.exe
     
  10. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    thanks for the feedback, BUT o_O I'm not sitting in front of that pc right now, and what I recall was opening the avira controller, or whatever it's called, and not option to do anything but "open," but just occurred to me that you mean open the control panel and uninstall it, ie, that it is installed as a separate app. Ok. Big thanks!! (duh! :rolleyes: me not enough coffee today?) I've used avira in the past, but not in more recently.
     
  11. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    556
    Im pretty sure thats only the case with Avira Free Security Suite as opposed to Avira Free Antivirus... they are two different programs. I made the mistake of not knowing the difference and got extra garbage installed by default. I hope they havent made that the default behavior of the free av now!

    PS: You can also get the offline installer from Filehippo for sure, and I think also Majorgeeks.
     
  12. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    Yeah, first you install the whole garbage and then you have to remove most parts of it. That's what I call malware ... ahm antivirus. :geek:
     
  13. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,642
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
  14. Amanda

    Amanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Brasil
    Thanks! Yeah, I made the mistake too. I thought: "wait a minute, are they calling their free AV a 'suite' now? I don't know, let's find out".
     
  15. Amanda

    Amanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Brasil
    Well, you obviously don't have only their control panel for removing things :p Windows gives a good amount of control already. If it doesn't, try "Revo Uninstaller" ;)
     
  16. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    right often use Revo, but sometimes not for av type apps as I've seen Revo conflict with installation of some security apps. Thanks for the heads up that avira_speedup is a separate app. I was just assuming it was all lumped together when I installed ariva_free. The pc where I installed it does not get my full_paranoid_attention where I document every bit & byte. :geek:
     
  17. Amanda

    Amanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Brasil
    @simmersK00L You're welcome.

    I just re-installed Windows and downloaded the full offline installer from here https://install.avira-update.com/package/antivirus/win/en-us/avira_antivirus_en-us.exe. It's really nice, gives us good control that reminds me of "good old days" of Kaspersky 7. It doesn't install speedup or their VPN, however it still installs Avira Connect and there's no way of removing it from the system because the AV itself depends on it. There's also no option to not install it during installation.
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,009
  19. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Still the same story huh!! Why doesn't Avira just get rid of the launcher anyway its just a unwanted addition to a great program.
     
  20. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    You can still run the Avira Antivirus App directly from a desktop shortcut or pinned to the task bar. Avira Launcher is the way to go and many consumers appreciate the easy management of their devices and Avira products in a single user interface.
     
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,009
    Can you clarify what the "many consumers" means?

    What is the percentage for users with many Avira products?
    What is the percentage for users with only one Avira product?
     
  22. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Hi anon,
    I have checked the available data and only 18% use just one Avira standalone product, all the others use several Avira products in combination with AV, VPN and Speedup. Other products like Scout Browser and Browser Safety are excluded from that statistic.
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Personally I cant understand all of this. Yes I am sure quite a few use, or have loaded at least the extra modules. As far as usage I don't know. But in all of their cases the launcher works. But come in, you also have a offset of your customer base who don't want to use it. So the simple answer is make it avalible either way and satisfy 100 percent of your customer base.

    You know it can be done, so why not just do it and end this thread. I just don't understand the rational for not offering your customer base both options. You folks are great but honestly, by not doing it I feel I am being force fed a product and that is why I quit using it.
     
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,009
    @Cmhelper,

    It's quite strange that VPN and Speedup (which are not so many years in the market) adopted so fast and from so many users.

    Thanks for the reply.
     
  25. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, trjam. Well, the user interface of the Avira product is in transission and Avira Connect has the major role in it. The current appearance will change and further optimized. In other words, making Avira Connect optional would mean in the near future to install the product with or without user interface - this would break the usability of the product.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.