Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,853
  2. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    One more software updater, 10 years too late Avira ...
     
  3. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Germany
    ;)
     
  4. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,045
    Location:
    Dubai
    just what we needed in addition the launcher, more bloatware
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,389
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I can't see how this is bloatware, just don't use it if you are not interested in it.
     
  6. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,045
    Location:
    Dubai
    Anything not related to the AV is bloatware.

    Look at Avast! for example, software updater, remote assistance, safe zone browser, Avast DNS, Avast Secure Home, you name it. Same with Bitdefender. Now Avira follows the trend.

    Seems like the pure AV only solutions are getting very rare these days.
     
  7. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,049
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    I haven't tried out the AVIRA software-updater, and will not on my own machines...:D
    If it works well, it's most likely the most useful bloat, that the launcher will offer (It's not added to the launcher yet)

    Having critical software up to date is an important pre-condition for safe use of a PC.
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,389
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    It is true that by installing the software updater it incorporates automatically with Avira and installs the launcher (I've tested it with Shadow Defender), but the installation itself is optional. I did not keep it as I'm very meticulous about updates in my machine therefore I don't need it, but for people who are not interested in these issues, the addition can be quite useful...
     
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,853
    Thanks for the info Osaban. :thumb:
    --------------------
    As Microsoft is trying with "Get Windows 10" campaign to move the users from Win 7 to Win 10,
    Avira is doing the same with the "Launcher".
    Must be a reason in both cases..... ;)
    -------------------
    :argh: :argh: :argh:
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2016
  10. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    577
    Location:
    Belgium
    Yeah but with avast if you do a custom install you can choose what options you want and don't install them . (disable all these bloat)
     
  11. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    839
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Keen to try this without registering for the beta - I don't know enough to be of any use as a beta tester. Any idea when it's released?
     
  12. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Germany
    Well our dev. dept. is still on it and beta is running. So I wound't except a release within the next 2-3 weeks... Also 'Update 18' will also be part of a partial roll-out so this could also take some time until it will be available for you. So please be patience - We are working on it ;)
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,853
    Windows 10 Anniversary Update Available August 2
    After 10 days is coming the Windows 10 v1607.
    Is the current Avira version 15.0.17.273 (Update 17) compatible with it?
     
  14. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    The RTM build 14393 of Windows 10 RS1 has been released and I've been running it for a couple of days. Avira v15.0.17.273 installs fine and appears to run fine. The only issue I came across is after I made some changes in configure settings and clicked apply, the GUI crashed and all the changes made were not saved. But after a reboot a second try worked. So now it basically works fine.
     
  15. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi @anon - Right now and as far as I see there aren't any known issues with the upcoming 'Anniversary Update'.
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,853
    Thank you both! :thumb:
     
  17. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,853
    Update 18 (Product version 15.0.18.354) released today.

    To Avira Pro (paid) users: Please welcome the Avira's beloved Launcher.........:mad: :thumbd:
    From now on, only with hack you can avoid the Launcher...... ;)
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2016
  18. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    Germany
    Anytime @anon ;)
     
  19. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,045
    Location:
    Dubai
    What do you mean? What if I installed the AV only without using the Avira downloader?
     
  20. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    I upgraded Avira Pro to 18 and just turned Launcher off in the Task Manager.
     
  21. guest

    guest Guest

    He is speaking about avira launcher (tray icon) like in almost every single of his posts in this thread.
     
  22. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,045
    Location:
    Dubai
    I can see that. What I asked is if one downloads the AV only of the Pro version, how does the Launcher get installed anyway? Certainly wasn't the way in the previous version.
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,853
    Windows 10 Pro x64 & Avira Pro with Launcher Disabled or Enabled.
    The picture speaks for itself.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,853
    With latest Product version 15.0.18.354 (Update 18 ), the first update installs the Launcher automatically.
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,389
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Is it the amount of memory that worries you?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.