Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    121,087
    Location:
    Texas
    Let's remain civil in this thread.
     
  2. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Hi Mortal, I will check that on monday and come back to you with the outcome. If the suspected FP has been routed through our support team and the detection is kept, there needs to be a reason for that. Update follows :)
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    121,087
    Location:
    Texas
    No more personal exchanges. They will be removed.
     
  4. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    At which point I'll have to decide to go with Trend (maybe if I win the lottery), or Webroot.
     
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    you can find trend many times on sale if you look. newegg had the 3pc version for 10$ not to long ago. im thinking from what im hearing they may work on a launcher free version for paid users but i can not say that for sure or not at this time.
     
  6. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    I would be cool with that, even if I had to use install flags.

    I'd also purchase Trend for $10.
     
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    just keep an eye on newegg they do put trend on sale pretty often. i have also seen it on sale as staples a number of times even free after rebate a few times.
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
    *Avira Launcher = Component of Avira Online Essentials

    :isay:
     
  9. Toni R

    Toni R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    Hi Anon,

    thanks for pointing out this change. What do you think about it, would be nice to hear your honest opinion.

    Thanks!

    Kind regards,
    Toni
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
    You mean the change only or the whole OE?
    If you really want to hear my opinion re OE, enjoy =
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avira.345492/page-111#post-2420390
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avira.345492/page-108#post-2418996
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avira.345492/page-110#post-2420115
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avira.345492/page-110#post-2419725
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avira.345492/page-107#post-2418529

    OE it's useless for me because all that I need it's a plain AV.

    PS.
    1) I have the Avira Pro (paid) in 4 PCs.
    2) I'm reading your comments in BetaCenter forum. :thumb:
     
  11. Toni R

    Toni R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    Thanks, we already took note of all of them. I was looking for your opinion on this particular change you posted in here about the notification screen.

    Yay! :D
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
    As I said before, I have the paid version.
    Anyway, the: "and will be used once in a month" it seems fair to me.
     
  13. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,362
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    I've submitted my FP through the e-mail you kindly supplied and to Stefan via PM not long after these posts. Yesterday I was notified by Avira that the URL was clean and confirmed by Stefan. Today I checked whether Avira still blocks a particular download, It doesn't... Quite efficient and fast I must say. For the record the FP was Shadow Defender's new version download, which notoriously has triggered many AVs in the past.

    I should also add that sometimes AVs may block even clean processes because they might be using devices that are used by malware, therefore the only way to deal with the problem is to add the specific file or URL to the exceptions. As an example Emisoft refused to clear a FP from Horizon DataSys RollBack Rx, on the grounds that such application was using a rootkit for its snapshot operations. As a result quite a number of users of RollBack Rx had their program crash after installing or scanning their system with Emisoft...
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2014
  14. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    That's good to know :thumb:
     
  15. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    that's what happened to me, I sent them a URL of a cinema (movie theatre) here in Dubai that it was flagged as malicious and how in the world could such a site be an FP, anyway, I got a report next day that it's clean! Great! checked the site, still blocked! So I submitted the FP again, same result. I gave up on their useless FP reporting system and on the product as a whole.

    The cinema website is:

    http://uae.voxcinemas.com/
     
  16. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Hi,
    As promised, I checked your FP report. The FP has been removed right now. Problem was, your report included a picture file showing the FP - and that file has been checked and confirmed as clean. Please use the URL report form only to avoid misunderstandings. Sorry for the inconvenience!
     
  17. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    I included the picture because the FP reporting system wouldn't let me click next without attaching any file :rolleyes: So I had to attach any file, so I took a picture of the FP in addition to mentioning the URL itself in the message! There was no other way of getting around this. They should fix the FP website to allow submitting an FP without attaching a file
     
  18. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    voxcinemas is using a advertisement framework with bad reputation - strongly recommended to visit that page with an adblocker only. The detection was removed.
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
    Which FP reporting system you mean?

    Submit Suspicious Files and URLs: It opens in "Submit Suspicious Files" form
    https://analysis.avira.com/en/submit

    For URLs you have to click on "Submit suspicious URLs" tab.
    https://analysis.avira.com/en/submit-urls
     
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
    No. Just now checked, still remains:
     
  21. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    702
    Anon, the WebCat with the fix is not yet released. QA takes a while ;-)
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
    "The FP has been removed right now" / "The detection was removed" [in Avira Labs, an update with the fix follows shortly]
     
  23. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Ahh I never had the 2nd link, only the first link when I googled submit false positives Avira

    that's why I wasn't able to submit an FP URL without attaching a file. thanks for the links
     
  24. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Thank you all for the additional feedback and explanation :thumb:
     
  25. abels

    abels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    Danang, VN
    Which is the lighter between the newest version of Avast Free and Avira Free? I'm using Avast now and want to give Avira a try.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.