Avira?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Nov 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I really liked Avira when I tried it. However, there were problems which were so annoying that I removed it.
    I frequent various security forums, including the "specific" AV forums.

    I have formed a distinct impression that Avira has a lot of reasonably small problems that do not get corrected. They make it less desirable than most other AVs.
    In the area of free AVs Avira appears to be more troublesome than the other two, AVG and Avast. I have used Avast at various times without any issues, and know a lot of folks who use AVG without issues. I have not found Avira so trouble free.

    Do I have the wrong impression of Avira, or does it seem to have a greater number of problems than others mentioned?

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    From a 98se persepective ..i think it has.
    ellison
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    What problem specifically u faced( ignoring update issue that some users face and the nag pop up)?
     
  4. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I guess you are asking the original poster this question ,but even so ,i d like to state that ,update issues and nag screens are something that AVG and particularly avast do not suffer from at all.
    elliosn
     
  5. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    The primary one was that upon start either the icon did not show in the tray, or that the umbrella showed the guard not active. When I would click on it the dropdown showed indicated that the guard was active, so it disagreed with the icon and the indicator.
    To get it activated it was necessary to deactivate it and then activate it. The icon then opened and all was well.

    Restart was required to get the icon showing when it did not show at start.

    I notice that this is still a problem from a today post on the Avira Classic forum.

    Such things, while they might seem small, are enough of a nuisance that I do not want to fool with them.

    I did not face update issues, but that is another one that indicates troubles that should be corrected.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I did notice such issues but as far as I remember it used to happen during my play with different malware otherwise I hardly noticed such an issue but as u stated there seem to be some bugs not yet fixed.
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    The problems were not 100% of the time, but probably closer to 40%. I also noticed that there seemed to be some conflict with Win Patrol as it failed to show most of the time that Avira did not show.

    Thanks for the reply.
    Jerry
     
  8. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    No problems with Avira Premium on an XP system now for nearly 6 months. In fact I have found it to be one of the lightest and most stable AV scanners I have used ( and I have tried a LOT! ). Further, False Positives have been very few so far and have been quickly corrected.
     
  9. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Jerry M,
    That's strange.I have Avira (free version) and WinPatrol Plus.I haven't experienced the problem that you described.
    I noticed once that the tray icon showed the guard inactive when it was in fact active.
     
  10. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I thought it strange also, but after trying various things, I never got WP to work right. After I uninstalled Avira all was well. Just a glitch in my combination I guess.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  11. Firefighter

    Firefighter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,670
    Location:
    Finland
    I have used AVIRA AntiVir PE 7 Classic as my only av about a couple of months without any major problems. Of course I had removed the notifier thing during updating as they have informed in here at Wilders.

    So far I have found 2 FP:s, which were fixed less than 12 hours. I have tested AntiVir in several crack sites and I can confirm that AntiVir was the best av in there among the nevest infected cracks and the next was Kaspersky of course after a couple of hours, when I scanned my findings in VirusTotal. The rest av:s were far away from these two. I just can't understand what were those bugs with this AntiVir.

    Best regards,
    Firefighter!
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2006
  12. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA

    I have had no compatibilty issues with AntiVir but there a few things that do need to get fixed by Avira.

    1. The guard stops when updating.
    2. It does not scan ALL files.

    It would be wise to install on a known clean computer, because it does not scan all the files. And the possiblity of getting infected when the guard stops.
    The nag screen can be disabled with Firewall or HIPS software.

    Rick
     
  13. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Hi Firefighter,

    I cannot understand them either. I hope that they will be corrected and I will again give it a try. I like Avira about as well as KAV 6.

    Right now I am using F-Secure on the laptop, and have about decided to keep it until it runs out in July 07. I do not have any issues with F-Secure in spite of the complaints about its heaviness.
    I would consider keeping it, but it is more expensive than I want to pay, considering the cost of other good AVs.

    Before I make any decision I will trial Avira again.

    Thanks for the reply, and it is good to see that in the real world both Avira and KAV work.

    Best,
    Jerry
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    are you sure it doesnt scan all files?

    or are you talking about the free version not scanning all files since the premium version does?

    lodore
     
  15. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    The free version does not scan all files.
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    fair enough i have only tryed the premium version so i didnt know.
    its hard to knock a free av thou with such a good detection rate.
    lodore
     
  17. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    err, sorry but that's rubbish. both free and premium scan all files, if you set it in the config. The default is smart extensions, and the 3rd alternative is extension based.
     
  18. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    i was gonna say that but i assumed they would of checked that...
    lodore
     
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    The paid antivirus is the best there is for the cost.
     
  20. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    no doubt about that IMO.
    lodore
     
  21. DarkX

    DarkX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Germany
    I tried Avira free edition three times (including on fresh install xp) and had same guard problems as described by JerryM.
    A reboot required always to re-activate the guard, i accept its lightness and very good detection rates and update screen never bothered me but decided to uninstall.
    I simply didnt want to see a disabled real time scanner in my system tray:(
     
  22. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    my sister doesnt have that problem with the premium version on her laptop i dont think..
    lodore
     
  23. DarkX

    DarkX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Germany
    I havent tried premium version yet maybe i should give it one more try:)
     
  24. DaveD

    DaveD Guest

    Although I quite like AntiVir PE, I did have some random problems with Guard as well. Sometimes it was not starting. It had some major GUI problems at one point where I would click on any of the drop-down menu items and it would turn Guard off, then on, and it would go on forever that way. It didn't matter which drop-down menu I clicked on, it would always turn Guard on and off.

    However, after several updates it sorted itself out and I have no problems with it at this time.
     
  25. kr4ey

    kr4ey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Location:
    Florida USA
    I'm not knocking AntiVir free edition. I use it myself. But this is a real problem, it does not scan all files. I have mine to set to scan all and I know I have alot more than 136,000 files on this computer. Even the forum on Avira has a bunch of threads about it.

    http://forum.avira.de/thread.php?threadid=13518
    http://forum.avira.de/thread.php?threadid=12429
    http://forum.avira.de/thread.php?threadid=14185

    And they call it Normal!!!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.