Avira+Vista64= tears

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by joffy, Nov 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joffy

    joffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Posts:
    84
    My KIS 2009 is up for renewal soon so I thought I'd try a new security setup.
    Browsing these wonderful forums I decided to try Look n Stop for the firewall.

    Installed the trial, worked fine. Next I installed Avira Prem trial... rebooted, lost internet connection! Rebooted/reset router, cleared DNS, no joy and a network diagnosis/repair showed no problems.

    Uninstalled Avira, still no net connection o_O
    So had to do a system restore to get back online.

    I uninstalled KIS 2009 beforehand, rebooted, ran ccleaner, so what's causing the problem?
     
  2. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Very much doubt that it's Avira. Either left-over KIS drivers, or the LnS firewall. Either way, see this post on troubleshooting stale driver entries.
     
  3. joffy

    joffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Posts:
    84
    Thanks. I did notice that Windows security centre was saying KIS was still providing malware protection etc. o_O
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    My guess would be it has something to do with your previous KAV/KIS install. I have run Avira here on Vista x64 without any issues at all, so I know it works well with x64. I have also seen something like your problem mentioned in relation to an uninstalled KIS setup by someone else before too.. Sorry though, I don't know what the cure is...
     
  5. joffy

    joffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Posts:
    84
    Just tried again. KIS seemed to uninstall ok, tried Avira with no software firewall running and still it killed my connection.

    In both Firefox and IE7 I just get a blank white browser window with "Done" status bottom left as if the page loaded ok.

    o_O o_O o_O o_O
     
  6. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ive had some pretty terrible experiences with uninstalling kaspersky products, maybe its just for me, but to me its becoming like how norton used to be, leaving **** everywer after uninstall and causing havoc on my system.
     
  7. joffy

    joffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Posts:
    84
    I'm going to give it one more go, if still a problem it's format drive time! :cool:
     
  8. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    tbh with my past experiences with kaspersky, ull probly want to format even if it does work...
     
  9. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    323
    Avira/Comodo on x64 vista, no problems at all. And yes, when I uninstalled KIS '07, I reformatted just to make sure. KIS might protect well, but IMHO it's more intrusive/invasive/unfriendly than Norton's used to be.
     
  10. joffy

    joffy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Posts:
    84
    Now have a nice clean Vista install and Avira now works! Thanks for the tips.
    Gonna try Outpost Pro with it now and hope it plays nice. ;)

    UPDATE: Outpost seems to make my system lag. Vista64, 4gb ram.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.