Avira Version 2013 is not yet fully supported on Windows 8

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zmechys, Feb 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    usa
    It's February 2013, but we still don't have AVIRA 2013 for Windows 8.
    What's happening?
    I've used Avira AV for many years on various Windows OS and never had any issues, never contacted AVIRA to complain about their AV.
    http://www.avira.com/en/support

    Right now, I have THE BitDefender (my "secret love"). After numerous issues, I've even stopped reporting my regularly-occurring problems to BD support team.
    In my opinion, Bitdefender , as probably the best antivirus program available right now, expanded too much and too fast by adding a "quiet firewall", Safepay, Sandbox, "accurate anti-spam", online backup, PC tuneup, encryption, anti-theft, etc..
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
  3. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    350
    And yet, the first quarter of 2013 has come and gone, and Avira products are still not fully compatible with Windows 8. Alas, what now
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Q1 of the year means January, February and March. February barely started so Q1 hasn't ended yet (by far).
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    First quarter doesn't end until March passes, but I'm sure this is not good for their business.
     
  6. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    and add the ask.com toolbar...makes it a NO NO for me to install it after I was very happy with it a few years earlier it was the best fore free av
     
  7. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    Avira is still a great antivirus and i still use Avira Premium on one machine

    about the toolbar, opt out of it during install its that simple
    it makes no difference really
     
  8. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    and what about the constant popup ads?

    it is good, it has good detection rate and not heavy on the system, they just spoiled it by including a toolbar

    an AV company including a spyware toolbar makes me not wanna trust them ever again
     
  9. AVusah

    AVusah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Posts:
    274
    Looks like someone's flunked their Arithmetic 101 course.

    What an idiotic reason not to use a program.
    A lot of good apps come with optional toolbars, which is why they're free.
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    No, it's not so simple.
    Have a look in your Antivir Desktop folder and you will find the following files =
    ApnIC.dll - ApnStub.exe -ApnToolbarInstaller.exe
    or
    apnic.dll - apnstub.exe - apntoolbarinstaller.exe
    ---------------------
    also here=
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=2122749&postcount=101

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=2122749#post2122749
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2013
  11. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Ask toolbar aside, its still a great AV. Only thing I do not like is that these files are also included in the paid versions, which is lame.

    Running it on two machines though however currently with no issues.
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
    +1
    Crapware bundled in paid products. It's a shame.
    ----------------------
     
  14. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,087
  15. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
  16. VectorFool

    VectorFool Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    India
    I never get any popup ads with my Avira Premium

    and to trust or not to trust is your decision based on your perception

    personally i never found any reason to stop using it
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I quit using the free version a long time ago because of the toolbar and the way they were doing things.. The fact that it was, or is, a great AV didn't make any difference... They're not the only great AV in town.. :)
     
  18. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    My friend you are great at supplying the latest news on security software here, please stick on it :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.