Avira update

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Apr 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    :) Just to clarify some things. The new updates are being uploaded to their servers tonight. So in the morning everything will be ready for downloading and/or updating.

    Roottkit detection will be included in the PE and Classic versions of the antivirus. Hope this clears a few things up.:)
     
  2. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    :cool:12345678
     
  3. duke1959

    duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1,238
    Will this new Program Update happen with Antivir PP set to Automatically update, and if so will it be all right to let it? I'm sure there was enough beta testing done, but since you never know, also does anyone anticipate any problems?
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    This is one you wont have a issue with. It is relatively light and very good.
     
  5. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Thats good news, no need for separate rootkit scanning program.
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Nope it is all integrated. Just check one little box and when the scan starts, it does the root kit scan first. It really is nice and convenient.
     
  7. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I thought that the anti-rootkit module would require uninstall and reinstall of the AV. Is that incorrect?

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  8. visora

    visora Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3

    YES, or just:

    control panel --> add/remove software --> AntiVir --> modifiy
    and then check Rootkit!
     
  9. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks,
    That is easier than a complete uninstall and install.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  10. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Going to try it out, since Avast! is incompatible with Sygate.
    Is it version 7.00.03.02?
     
  11. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    Who told you avast was incompatible with Sygate?
     
  12. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It's actually Sygate which is incompatible with avast! lol. That thing is outdated...

    About Avira, i couldn't care less for rootkit detector when i have to look at that crappy stupid popup.
     
  13. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Lots of people. I think there are even threads here.

    Well, i now see what you mean.. Avast! will soon return, don't worry.
    Actually, it was kind of strange to me, uninstalling Avast!. Weird.
     
  14. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    I apologize for being off-topic, but...

    Sygate per se is NOT incompatible with avast. It's just that Sygate cannot protect localhost proxies - a mechanism used by avast's mail and web scanners.

    Nothing more (no crashes, no nothing...)

    Cheers
    Vlk
     
  15. toxical2004

    toxical2004 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Posts:
    31
    Well, i don't actually see why is that popup window SUCH a huge problem, it's kinda extremely easy to prevent :D
     
  16. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Even if i really don't use those shields (web is on, but never saw anything), are you saying they are useless?
    If they are, Antivir classic doesn't look bad at all. It looks even better, if it weren't for the pop.
     
  17. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Sygate has always had a glaring huge hole in it that Sygate was aware of and discussed in their forums and they flat out refused to fix it because fixing it meant rewriting Sygate completely. I use the Proxomitron which is a local proxy and if I were to also use Sygate one could drive a truck through the hole in Sygate's protection.

    As for Avira free popup, that can be disabled or why not get the Premium version as a free trial for six months? At the end of the trial you will probably love it so much that you want to buy it. It is still available from this link. It is in German but all you need from the email you will get is the key.
    http://forum.avira.de/thread.php?threadid=20395
     
  18. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Disable the Antivir popup nag screen.

    Windows XP Home and Pro:

    1. Boot into Safe Mode (tap F8 repeatedly after you restart the computer)
    2. Log in using the Administrator account
    3. Go to C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avnotify.exe
    4. Right-click avnotify.exe-> properties-> security-> advanced
    5. Under the Permissions folder you will see all of the users. Start with the first user….
    6. Edit-> Traverse Folder / Execute File-> deny-> ok
    7. Now perform step 6 for all of the other users-> apply-> yes/ok-> close all open windows
    8. Reboot the computer into Normal Mode (start-> shutdown-> restart)

    Windows XP Pro only:

    1. Start-> Control Panel
    2. Administrative tools
    3. Local security policy-> software restriction policy-> action (at the top)-> create new restriction policies
    4. Right-click additional rules (on the right side)-> new hash rule
    5. Click Browse and navigate to c:\program files\Antivir\ and double-click avnotify.exe-> set the security level to Disallowed-> apply-> ok
     
  19. pilotart

    pilotart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    377
  20. coldplay

    coldplay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    191
    is it out yet?
     
  21. Miyagi

    Miyagi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Posts:
    420
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
  22. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I just got an update but it was regular update. It is still April 18 here.
     
  23. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Got it via auto update.
    Restart and you will be asked to install Rootkit scanner.
    :)

    Gerard
     
  24. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2007
  25. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Very slow to download. It has been downloading for 16 minutes and is only 61% finished. This is on a cable modem connection at 5000kbps down. It's still the 18th in Hawaii so I didn't expect it yet but knew it was coming when it said "Please wait" and made me wait 2 minutes before the download commenced so I knew it wasn't an ordinary download which I had gotten just one hour earlier. I can't wait for it finish so I can see what this is like! :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.