Avira Self Esteem Issues?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by drhu22, Oct 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    Can anyone explain this?
    Its from the installation of the latest Avira Personal.
    Im running W7 with Kingsoft AV, Comodo FW, Sandboxie free, Exploitshield, and Avira of course...installation went ok except for this wierdness.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  2. pintas

    pintas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Posts:
    171
    ROFL!! That is just silly! :argh:
     
  3. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    LMAO,The thread title and the screen was about the silliest thing I have seen.:D Poor Poor Avira
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  4. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    343
    Im glad i could provide you with some entertainment :blink:
    However...that was for real!
    Has anyone seen that before, or can anyone reproduce it?
    Still scratching head...

    Any Avira gurus out there?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  5. ComputerSaysNo

    ComputerSaysNo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Posts:
    1,425
    Ahahahah LOL
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
  7. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Installed Avira free 3 days ago and haven't had that weirdness.
     
  8. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    ROFLMAO.....this made my day....oh my avira really nailed it now....:argh::argh:.....
     
  9. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Maybe it detected the toolbar? :rolleyes:
     
  10. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    The answer is in your own post :rolleyes:
     
  11. carat

    carat Guest

    ROFL Avira! :D
     
  12. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    Does it happen to be the version of Kingsoft with Avira sigs? If Avira detected its own files in the Kingsoft folder and does not have Kingsoft in its check db that may be the reason.
     
  13. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    My comment was in light of Avira having a blooper moment but not worse then a recent sophos AV detecting its own component as malware.;) Kind regards.
     
  14. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Did you have an older version of Avira installed? Are you upgrading from 2012? Did you do a complete uninstall of the old version if that is the case?

    Ive installed Avira Internet Security 2013 on two machines so far and that did not happen to me.
     
  15. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Apples to oranges though. Avira isn't detecting itself here... it's telling you to remove something else that could conflict with it before installing. With pretty much every AV it's a good idea to remove prior versions, and cleaning up all traces of it before installing the new one.

    I remember when I was installing Kaspersky AV years ago, it told me to remove traces of it's online scanner I had installed first. I didn't laugh at it... I considered it prudent advice.

    Now an AV actually detecting itself... THAT would indeed be funny! Sad, actually.
     
  16. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Wow that is weird. :eek:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.