Avira Question?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rookieman, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    A friend asked me these two questions and I couldn't really answer them so I'm going to ask you guys.Is there a time limit to activate his license and can a single user license be used on his three computers in his home?
     
  2. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! If your friend has a single license that covers three P.C.'s their O.K. In my case I have one yr coverage for 1 P.C. So if your friend has a laptop and Tablet they need to purchase one yr coverage that as mentioned covers three P.C.'s. So from a Cost perspective they might pay $39.95 for one year one p.c. or $59.95 for 1 yr 3 P.C. Coverage. This is for illustration and comparison sake only. Hope this provides Clarity for you. Sincerely...Securon
     
  3. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    Thanks for the reply on this.If he purchases this license tomorrow is there a time limit to activate this license?
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
    =
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avira.345492/page-98#post-2406442


    &
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2015
  5. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yes there is a time limit but its a long time i think 2 years. and i was specifically told by someone at avira that "all devices" meant up to three unless that person was wrong.
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    It is a bit confusing though, if I understand correctly, one user means 3 devices, 2 users 6 devices etc... On the Avira website one has the impression of buying 1 user and getting a license for 1 computer. If that's the case Avira might be shooting itself in the foot, they should be clear about the number of devices.
     
  7. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    I had an Avira license a couple of months back. 1 license is for 1 user, that 1 user is free to install Avira on upto 3 computers that he owns
     
  8. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    552
    This contradicts what is in anon's post.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avira-question.372753/#post-2452079


    When you go to downloadcrew.com, the licenses they are selling are 1year/1pc and 1year/3pc. Seems to be a different answer depending on where you purchase it. It is confusing on what you are getting.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2015
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
    http://www.avira.com/en/support-for-home-knowledgebase-detail/kbid/1665

     
  10. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    552

    Attached Files:

  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
    it's just a mistake in wording.
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    It is already changing with most vendors just going with one license for 3 or 5 different products. Gone is the old days of just Microsoft and enter Mac and Androids.
     
  13. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    552
    Thanks, anon. I have brought it to their attention. I was informed that they, downloadcrew, will respond within 48 hours.
     
  14. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    as i said i was told by a employee of avira 1 user means up to 3 machines. unless they were wrong they work for avira directly
     
  15. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Nowhere it says during the purchasing protocol that 1 user will activate 3 machines. IMO a marketing mistake as for some people it might mean a deal breaker, as they can get more than a machine with other products.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    552
    I emailed Avira yesterday and they responded with the following. This response came from, Consumer Services - Order &License Management

    Please see attachment.

    I then replied asking why the information in their knowledgebase is different than the info just provided to me. I haven't heard back on this yet.

    Pretty sloppy licensing if you ask me.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 28, 2015
  17. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    552
    @anon Since you are a main Avira contributor here, I thought you should see this.

    Here is the response I received from Avira.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 29, 2015
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
  19. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    552
    And the other two posts that you referenced and highlighted show, 1 license for all devices, which is incorrect. I was trying to clarify this by contacting Avira directly instead of relying on possibly outdated posts and knowledgebase.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2015
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
    :thumb:
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    yes there is, its called "Divorce"
     
  22. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    Thanks for this :)
     
  23. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    So, 1 license = 3 devices or 5? We still have conflicting information here. I have a license from late 2014, and I do not know where I stand!
     
  24. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    It looks like 1 license for up to 5 computers and 3 for up to 15 computers by the look of things.
     
Loading...