Avira Protection Cloud public beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Stefan Kurtzhals, Jul 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
  2. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Fast and works well. You have to install Framework 4. Wish it had a right click scan option.
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    It actually took longer than the first version, more files were scanned and uploaded, without any FPs so far.
     
  4. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    855
    Thanks for the link!

    Uneventful - scanned 1000+ files in less than a minute. No FPs. Would be interesting to try on an infected machine.
     
  5. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Does it still just scan, and not have an option to remove?
     
  6. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
  7. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thanks, received an e-mail earlier today :thumb:
     
  8. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    I'll give it a try.
    Is it just an On Demand scanner or it's like an On Access? :rolleyes:
     
  9. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Is Avira Protection Cloud offering a protection layer when surfing the net or visiting sites ?
     
  10. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    It's just a cloud scanner doing a smart scan like mbam..
     
  11. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Ok, but MBAM has a website protection when surfing. ;)

     
  12. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    Germany
  13. LnSrocks

    LnSrocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    any screenshots of the settings?
     
  14. Barthez

    Barthez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Poland
    Tested it briefly, after scan it uploaded 66 files from my PC to cloud. Without my permission. I have nothing against uploading files after I allow it (and I'm not speaking about EULA here) or checking hashes of files automatically. Simple dialog after scan with yes/no options would be good: "Avira Cloud detected XX number of unknown files, to determine if file is safe it must be uploaded to cloud for automated checking. Upload files now?".

    Also, I don't know what are plans for Avira Cloud, but if Avira wants to make it a separate product (a very good idea IMO) then it should think about making Avira Cloud a portable solution.

    That's all I can think of right now :)
     
  15. d0t

    d0t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    how come i had never heard of it? just luved it :)

    edit: scan if pretty fast. however, they have to work on whitelisting programs, because it uploaded some known stuff like VideoLan and etc
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012
  16. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    I installed Avira Cloud beta on friend's laptop running on Vista 32 bits.

    After launching, I clicked on Cloud Scan, and I had the message ' Preparing to scan' and nothing was happening. After a few minutes awaiting, I kill the program with TM. Any help or guidance will be helpfull, thanks.
     
  17. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    Have you provided the requirements ?


    Code:
    Microsoft .NET Framework 4
    Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package
    Internet connection
    Windows XP SP3 or higher
     
  18. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    I need to check if Microsoft .NET Framework 4 is installed.

    The others requirements, yes.
     
  19. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    On my Vista machine it behaves similarly, for a few minutes nothing seems to happen (except the CPU is working at 70-80%) and then suddenly the scan starts and goes fairly fast at this stage. I like to think that if you had waited a little bit longer the scan would have started normally.
     
  20. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    If you experience a long (larger than 30 seconds) delay for the "Preparing to scan" phase, you most likely have some security software active that has on-access scanning. We checked the logs of some customers that have this effect and found that Kaspersky, AVG and MSE so far can cause this. If you disable their on-access / monitoring feature just for the scan with the Avira scanner, the prepare time will be much faster. Behaviour blockers could also cause the delay, they (of course) use lots of system hooks too.

    During that "preparing to scan" phase, the tool builds the list of files that needs to be scanned by searching your system. This causes somewhat high amount of file operations which can be slowed down by on-access scanners. We are working on optimizing the logic of that system search to cause less file operations.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2012
  21. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Just checking with the team leader that maintains our clean file set, VLC should be definitively in the set. Please report if you notice more uploads of popular tools, we are synchronizing the cloud statistics with our clean set, so those uploads shouldn't happen normally.
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I'm thinking now, you made this preview, now you're gathering data, eventually, you'll use this tech in AVIRA AV right?
     
  23. Stefan Kurtzhals

    Stefan Kurtzhals AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Posts:
    701
    Yes, this tech will definitively be used in the regular Avira products sooner or later. First step will be also just the quick system scan, but that is only a *very* basic usage of that technology.
     
  24. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Stefan,

    Yes, indeed, my friend has MBAM with real time protection. I will try it next time to disable MBAM protection and see what's happening.

     
  25. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    I will waiting for more time next time, thanks Osaban.

     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.