AVIRA Premium Configuration

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by TheKid7, Nov 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,475
    I am considering giving AVIRA Premium and try in a couple of months.

    Is the "Default" Configuration considered to be the best? I would like a high level of protection with minumum user intervention (Wife also uses PC).

    Also, in the event of a false positive I lean toward Quarantine for malware detected. Is Quarantine of malware the default?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Arup

    Arup Guest

    I like to check the extended threat categories and also turn on self protection which is turned off by default, all my scanner heuristics are on high, better to be paranoid than get infected. I have my guard scanner set to repair on detect and then delete if not possible, the reason being that if I am not around the PC and a virus strikes, I don't want Avira to be waiting for an answer, I would rather that it takes action right away.
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,799
    The defaults are pretty good, but as Arup suggests, you can tighten it up some with some further adjustments. I think in the event of a detection, Avira asks you what you want to do.
     
  4. tmaertin

    tmaertin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    North Tonawanda, NY
    x3 to arups settings...
     
  5. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Also I'd suggest enabling scanning for all the supported archive types and select scanning all file types.
     
  6. guilijan

    guilijan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Posts:
    206
    It can't scan encrypted connections.
    It's the only problem it has.
     
  7. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    do you suggest it for on-demand scan or for realtime "guard"?
     
  8. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    For both.:)
     
  9. xan K

    xan K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Dominican Republic
    ok, thanks.
     
  10. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,475
    Do the Recommendations for changes from the Default Configuration remain the same for the "New" version of AVIRA Premium? Any other comments/suggestions on Configuration Changes?

    Thank you.
     
  11. Plati

    Plati Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Poland
  12. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    Can anyone answer this confiugration question for me ?

    I was wondering why in Avira Antivir Premiun 9 that the WebGuard - I-Frames checking option turned OFF by default when AntiVir Premium 9 is isntalled ? ... Is there a disadvantage to turning it ON ?
     
  13. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    I-Frames don't work :p So some sites like Facebook will not load their stuff.
     
  14. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    selecting "all files" and "all archive types" for the guard (resident scanner) is needless and might impact your system performance negatively (as with all the other av softwares. if you set it to max, you'll sacrifice some performance). the default setting for the guard is sufficient. (if you insist on having higher security, try "smart extensions" then. but, again, i believe that default is enough.
     
  15. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    no. it's more of a web protection such as having zone alarm's privacy settings on, or outpost's web protection on or any oher fw/av/security suite's web protection settings on. if you set it on (with all the above mentioned products), you might have some problems with couple of web sites. for instance, web pages not displayed properly, some active elements needed to run being blocked, etc. that's all.
     
  16. JosephB

    JosephB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Posts:
    310
    siberianwolf,

    So, then am I correct in assuming that you have chosen to leave I-frames checking off for your Avira PC setup, so as not to have any web page display issues ?
     
  17. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Default Configurations quite good for me
    Just keeping in Automatic mode have give first option for repair and second option for rename :thumb: :thumb:
    Quite impressed with it :thumb: :thumb:
     
  18. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    no, you're wrong. cuz, having drive-by protection on, i haven't come across to a web site yet that had issues with it. the reason why it's been reported to cause some issues is some fellas use it concurrently with a similar protection feature of another resident sw on, such as a fw/asw/amw sw.
     
  19. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i have I-Frames enabled and not a single site has had issues rendering for me.
     
  20. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,261
    I agree. What's the difference between "Delete" and "Overwrite and delete"?
     
  21. boonie

    boonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    From Avira Help File

    "delete

    If this option is enabled, the file is deleted but can be restored if necessary with appropriate tools (e.g. Avira UnErase). This means the virus pattern could be detected again. This process is much faster than "overwrite and delete".

    overwrite and delete

    If this option is enabled, the Guard overwrites the file with a default pattern and then deletes it. It cannot be restored.

    Note
    If you have selected Delete or Overwrite and Delete as the primary or secondary action, you should note the following: In the case of heuristic hits, the affected files are not deleted, but are instead moved to quarantine. "
     
  22. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,261
    Thanks, I often forget there's always a help file with every program. I have always set Avira to quarantine first before deleting, and considering the possibility of FPs I'd rather keep the setting simply on "delete".
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.