Avira Premium 6-month license free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by albsat, Mar 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. albsat

    albsat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    40
    Just wanted to let you know that by visitin this promotional page in German language, you can download the 6 month free license from Avira.

    http://www.avira.com/de/promotion-starmoney

    If you wanna replace with an English version, just save the key in your computer.
     
  2. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    This is the full Security Suite free for 6 months. All I can say is sweet...:thumb: :D
     
  3. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks...how do I get the license key so I can install the English version?
     
  4. thehudd

    thehudd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    56
    :thumb: My question exactly.
     
  5. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Here you have all the details.The german installer is on the promo page.
    -http://technsports.com/how-to-activate-free-avira-premium-security-suite-for-6-months-in-english-version/5892/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed:+technsport+(Tech+'N'+Sports)-
    Hope it helps.
     
  6. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks...worked perfectly! :thumb:
     
  7. constantine76

    constantine76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    178
    When you download the German version you'll have to register like when you use the Avira Personal. After which you will get the key that you can use for the English version. But it shows a pop-up reminding you that you are "on-trial" at start-up and before scanning. So you cannot leave it alone when you have to set a scheduled scan that will shut itself down. You have to be there to click okay.

    But it's free for 6 months. :)

    If you want a 90 day license for the Premium one click here (but you'd have to use a proxy)
     
  8. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    They may be wise to what is happening - no email with HBDEV link
     
  9. mrfargoreed

    mrfargoreed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Posts:
    356
    Same here - no link :( . Thanks for the info anyway albsat :thumb: .
     
  10. Night_Raven

    Night_Raven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Posts:
    388
    Strange. I just tried it again with another of my email addresses and received a second license file. So the "trick" seems to be working fine.
     
  11. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Doesn't work here.

    Raven, I was wondering if you could get me one?
     
  12. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I didn't get the email from Avira but I had an old email from a previous promo that had a link to my account. My Avira account showed the new 6 month trial key and it downloaded fine. I have not yet tried it but will probably tomorrow.
     
  13. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Took this up and gave it a shot. The German -> English conversion works fine. The only downside is that every time you do a scan the software forces you to click the button confirming that it is an evaluation version and a prompt comes up when starting up windows I believe.

    The software is top rate however so its a great deal.
     
  14. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    That's why i didn't bother with it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
  15. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I have installed it on my dual boot XP, and still, it's the same old stuff. Lots of false positives. And they really need to work on their GUI which is extremely dull and feels outdated.
     
  16. markedmanner

    markedmanner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    134
    I here the complaint of false positives from various people. What is it detecting that is a false positive? I have Avira installed on 2 computers with heuristics set on HIGH and all categories checked for detection except for games. I have had this setup for 2 years now and have at MOST had 3 false positives in that time period. I have lost of programs installed on my computers as well. I also test alot of different software (I enable Returnil and then restart after done testing). The only false positives I had were not anything major like Windows system files or anything that would break anything. It was usually some little known utility or some geeky piece of software. ha. So what is it that you had false positives with?
     
  17. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,115
    Thanks, using!
     
  18. Zimzi

    Zimzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Posts:
    289
    A lot of complaints are about the detections related to cracks and patches. Seems that some people expect from Avira to be their accomplice in the illegal using of software.
     
  19. Someheresomethere

    Someheresomethere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Posts:
    71
    Well it's not like detecting something as malicious even if it's not, and refusing to remove the detection just because it's illegal is right either.

    But I don't think Avira is more prone to detecting warez than other antiviruses.
     
  20. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    is Star Money able to be translated as well?
     
  21. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    All you have done is obtained a 6 mth trial of the software to evaluate. It isn't a patch or a crack.
     
  22. Dundertaker

    Dundertaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Posts:
    385
    Location:
    Land of the Mer Lion
    I had an experience before with Avira detecting PDFCreator as malware. I sent the sample to them and to VT for verification and later on it was okay. I was like that also with HitmanPro( i think it was with Build 110 or 112 or something)..On m we can always check the FP via 3rd party checkers. I often do that also with Prevx support. They also respond quite well.

    Friend says the link is still active.
     
  23. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    can i use key just on the premium version AV, don't want the suite. I can't seem to get it going get key.
     
  24. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I tried it once a few years ago and it won't work. The key is coded strictly for the suite.
     
  25. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    It found two viruses in my "F-Secure" installation directory on the other partition (with Windows 7).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.