Avira Portable?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by J_L, Oct 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Cool!
     
  3. operamail

    operamail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    254
    I did not see any USB symbol there. The ZIP link has been there for a long time.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    The grey icon. So does it work?
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    This would be nice if portable. Why's the zip file larger than the installer version? Does the zip file include sigs?
     
  6. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe

    Do you mean the 88,96 MB size 's file ?
     
  7. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    A screenshot would be fine. :D

    I can't see any USB or grey icons at all. Plus the ZIP has been available for a long time and I think it's the installer EXE inside a ZIP, not a portable ZIP.
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    i give it a try later - since avira 10 it cannot be installed into sandboxie for testing purpose.

    # its the setup zipped - no more.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
  9. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    376
    I thought so too, but J.L. is right, it's the program files. I can't try it though since i'm not in front of my pc for a couple of days now.
    You 're right about the usb icon, i can not see it either
     
  10. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    854
    I usually bring Avira Potable if I'm going to draw from the local water in a third world country... can't be too careful.
     
  11. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    376
    Can you tell us more details, how does this thing work?
     
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    @blacknight: Yes.

    @Doraemon: Nevermind, it's a userscript I have.

    I've already said it isn't, download and see for yourself.

    @Brummelchen: I'll try in VirtualBox then.

    No such thing, what did you download?

    Edit:
    I just tested it, but it requires msvcr100.dll files on my virtual machine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
  13. markedmanner

    markedmanner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    134
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    @J_L - the SFX (or ZIP) is just another installer - i cant get the guard nor the config or gui working in sandboxie. either the struktur is same like the normal setup.
    Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package
    http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=5555
     
  15. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Avira DE-Cleaner has been a very handy Tool! :thumb:
     
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    It all makes sense now. Thanks to everyone who contributed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.