Avira Portable?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by J_L, Oct 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,031
    Cool!
     
  3. operamail

    operamail Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Posts:
    254
    I did not see any USB symbol there. The ZIP link has been there for a long time.
     
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    The grey icon. So does it work?
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,964
    This would be nice if portable. Why's the zip file larger than the installer version? Does the zip file include sigs?
     
  6. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,874
    Location:
    Europe, UE citizen

    Do you mean the 88,96 MB size 's file ?
     
  7. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    A screenshot would be fine. :D

    I can't see any USB or grey icons at all. Plus the ZIP has been available for a long time and I think it's the installer EXE inside a ZIP, not a portable ZIP.
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,650
    i give it a try later - since avira 10 it cannot be installed into sandboxie for testing purpose.

    # its the setup zipped - no more.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
  9. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    377
    I thought so too, but J.L. is right, it's the program files. I can't try it though since i'm not in front of my pc for a couple of days now.
    You 're right about the usb icon, i can not see it either
     
  10. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    I usually bring Avira Potable if I'm going to draw from the local water in a third world country... can't be too careful.
     
  11. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    377
    Can you tell us more details, how does this thing work?
     
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    @blacknight: Yes.

    @Doraemon: Nevermind, it's a userscript I have.

    I've already said it isn't, download and see for yourself.

    @Brummelchen: I'll try in VirtualBox then.

    No such thing, what did you download?

    Edit:
    I just tested it, but it requires msvcr100.dll files on my virtual machine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
  13. markedmanner

    markedmanner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    134
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,650
    @J_L - the SFX (or ZIP) is just another installer - i cant get the guard nor the config or gui working in sandboxie. either the struktur is same like the normal setup.
    Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package
    http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=5555
     
  15. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Avira DE-Cleaner has been a very handy Tool! :thumb:
     
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    It all makes sense now. Thanks to everyone who contributed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.