Avira Personal vs. Avira Premium

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Brandonn2010, Jan 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pedersen

    Pedersen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Posts:
    234
    Test by manual scan (commandline) and afterwards all malware researcher that I had contact too received the the total pack for analyzes. They confirmed this result.
     
  2. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    That answers my question. Thank you !
     
  3. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    Avira rulezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, best one that's not bloated. Premium FTW!!!!!!
     
  4. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    542
    Location:
    Nottingham
  5. marcuskng

    marcuskng AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Posts:
    74
    Thanks for the flowers :D
     
  6. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Woooooah, we had Avira developers on board?
    Nice man! :thumb: *Hugs*
     
  7. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    But that's just one of them:) I think:doubt:
     
  8. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Location:
    255.255.255.255

    if you dont know abt the company then atleast dont spread rumors... symantec has never fallen even in those times when it was bloat and everyone was criticizing it .

    norton is still the most used AV along with avast... so work on improving your product them foul cry
     
  9. Pedersen

    Pedersen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Posts:
    234
    You wouldnt doubt me if you knew what is going on behind the public scenes :p
     
  10. smage

    smage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    378
    Yes poor us, we have to rely on AV Comparatives Dynamic tests where we are lead to believe that Symantec is one of the best.lol
     
  11. Zimzi

    Zimzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Posts:
    289
    I never liked Norton Antivirus. A few days ago I installed the trial version of Norton Antivirus 2011 and tested it with small collection of new samples, including two latest rogue antiviruses. I was stunned with efficiency of Norton.

    But, hey, this is topic about Avira, not Norton. :D
     
  12. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812

    With each and every company there are always things happening in the background - behind the scene. Of course they might be a problem for those that actually are behind that scene. However , what is happening behind the scene will only turn into real problem when it gets out of control and when/if it reaches the clients - when/if it affects Norton/Symantec products' quality , affects badly support , protection , etc.

    At the moment the mass public (including me) doesn't know what is going on behing Symantec scenes (even though you are trying to hint us that there is something happening). However , we don't care because it still hasn't affected us - the partners , the clients ... etc . If these potential internal issues affect the product and the company - that would be another story.

    At the moment I see only small minor issues here and there but generally speaking everything seems fine on the top.
     
  13. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Did you ever test ESET ?
     
  14. Pedersen

    Pedersen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Posts:
    234
    Hello ugly, No i didnt even though I wanted too. Got limited time and machine power :p so chose to only include vendors who I have contact to.
     
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    The whole Avira dev team deserves it :thumb:
     
  16. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Yes it is indeed and would ask that for those wishing to discuss other non Avira products do so in a more appropriate thread Please. Any further AV product and testing discussion will be off topic to this thread.
     
  17. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    I have to agree with most posts above.

    The only thing that I am afraid of, is that avira starts in the future bloating this old school but fantastic antivirus with features like virtualization, onscreen keyboard, auto decisions etc. I hope it will remain as it is: fast, user friendly and effective.
     
  18. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,848
    don't understand the realtime extension or smart

    does the smart work in the same way pro and free?

    it slows down the real time engine
     
  19. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    there is no realtime extension or smart

    On the guard settings you have the option to scan
    - all files (all files are scanned)
    - smart extension list (files are scanned based on their content)
    - file extension list (files are scanned based on their extension)

    Personally I use the third option and from the file extensions I remove the zip & rar extensions, so that archives are not scanned.
     
  20. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,848
    but you wrote
    so see there is a real time with the file extension or smart


    the smart is lots more slow
     
  21. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Well I didn't understand your first question.

    Of course if you set the real time scanner (AKA guard) to smart extension, the load to your PC will be higher than if you set it to file extension list.

    The reason for this is that whilst on smart, avira will determine which files to scan according to their content, which, as you understand, takes longer than just read the extension.

    The same happens with most AVs. Kaspersky has a similar option where you can choose files to be scanned according to their content or their extension.

    Personally I have set Avira's Guard to scan files according to extension, and the "Scan Mode" to "Scan files only when reading". This way the files are not scanned when created - only when opened, therefore you may download an archived virus without any prompt but when you decompress it, it will be found by the guard.

    I won't recommend you these settings, however they work for me, as my HDDs don't take that much load (I/O), especially during downloading.
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Actually that's not true.

    Scan when reading = on execution/open
    Scan when writing = when the file is modified or created (ie downloaded)

    In case of downloaded archive and scanning on read, when you download archive it won't be scanned. When you open it it won't be scanned unless archive scanning is enabled on-access. It won't be scanned when extracted. However the content will be scanned when you execute it.

    To be honest i'm not even sure why companies prefer words reading/writing because it's very confusing to users. The explained words above would be much more clear to users...
     
  23. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Hi ReiZoR.

    Actually it is true.

    It is suppose to work the way you described it, BUT ACTUALLY IT DOESN'T.

    I tried it once more now before replying to your post. I have a virus in a rar file. My guard configuration is set to scan when reading only and archives are not scanned.

    Now I open the rar file with winrar and only extract it to desktop (without running it) and the Guard popups a window with title "Malware found".

    Please note that I just extracted it (two minutes ago) and I didn't run it.

    Therefore, I say that it suppose to work how you describe it, but it doesn't.

    Try it by yourself and see. Eset V4 had also exactly the same behavior.
     
  24. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Here is a video that I just made. Note that I set action on detection automatically to rename the file. Normally I set it to interactive but the problem here was that the transparent popup of avira guard was not captured by my screen recorder application. You will note that avira renames it instantly and becomes non functional.


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlhS8uegjTU


    I understand that this is not the desired behavior according to settings but I supposed that it is an extra protection layer.
     
  25. marcuskng

    marcuskng AV Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Posts:
    74
    @Mike21: "Reading" includes things done automatically by the OS. For EXE files, as an example, browsing the folder (or your example showing on desktop) will cause the OS to try displaying an icon from the binary. As such the OS will open and read the file.

    Maybe that sheds some light on why it gets triggered in your test case.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.