Avira free update problems?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Paradutch, Sep 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paradutch

    Paradutch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Paraguay
    Hi Folks,

    I couldn´t update my AVIRA FREE AV since last Sunday.....webguard etc is working well so I assume there is nothing wrong with the software installed on my PC.
    I am on Win 7....AMD Dual core Athlon II

    Anyone else having the same probs?? Or is it just me...?
    I met to understand this is common with Avira free products...:-( For the rest I think it´s a great AV...

    TIA

    Paradutch
     
  2. iravgupta

    iravgupta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Posts:
    605
    1. Either you have Avira Free or you have the webguard. It cannot be both.
    2. The free version has been known to have update issues. Avira forum is chock full of update related complaints.
     
  3. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    The free version has given me very few update problems.
     
  4. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
  5. progress

    progress Guest

    Here you are :doubt:

    I would replace Avira free with Avast or Panda :) (or you could buy Avira premium without update problems :D )
     
  6. fsr

    fsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    190
    No problem here (i have Avira free on-demand only) however you should know built-in updater of version 10.x is buggy... so either revert to 9.x or apply workaround
     
  7. Paradutch

    Paradutch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Paraguay
    Thanks Blacknight...that trick did it:)However it was a large update...thank God for broad band:)

    Anyways...how should I know the updater is "buggy"...I am just a normal enduser!
    For now Avira suits me fine...and I know that its a great AV program.
    Thanks for your input...

    right now the problem seems to be solved. Had installed Avast 5 (free) before on win 7 and gave me probs...so I switched to Avira.

    regards,

    paradutch
     
  8. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I do not know if the updater from version 10 is buggy or not, but i do know that i also hat problems with its updater when i tried v10. And i do not believe that if you have/find version 9 that the update problem will be solved, simply because i hat the update problem with v9 as well.

    Personally i think it has to do with the servers they use for Avira Free. I think those servers can not handle the massive amount of people worldwide that use Avira Free. If i am wrong with these thoughts then one of the veterans here will correct me. :)
     
  9. fsr

    fsr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Posts:
    190
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Removed Off Topic Post. The topic is Avira Free, not Avast nor NOD32. Please keep on topic. Thanks!
     
  11. dRag0nMa

    dRag0nMa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    SH China
    too big to d/l it every time...
    is there any method to do a increasement d/l and manual updating?

     
  12. progress

    progress Guest

    You can upgrade to Avira Premium for 3 months here ~ Link Removed as per Policy ** :cool:

    ~ ** The 3 month full test version is for Digitus customers only - JRViejo ~
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 19, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.