avira fp?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Nike_P, Apr 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    can anyone confirm that this is a FP?
    i tried to scan my PC for spyware/adw from X-CLEANER and this is very aggressive scan and today Avira stopped it: TR/Lineage.687128

    But X-Cleaner is very known scan spyware, i dont know if this would be a TRLineage?
    and i always scan from there, but this time avira detect as TR/ i downloaded this file: "XClean_Micro.exe"

    what do you think?
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2008
  2. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
  3. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    ehh dont have time for it´:)
    i just stop scan from there , but it was a very good ad/spy scanner.
    :doubt:
     
  4. Thug21

    Thug21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    Illinois
    I would recommend submitting it to Avira when you have time (it only takes a few seconds).
    http://analysis.avira.com/samples/index.php

    Just put in your email, upload the file and choose FP. If it is a false detection, they will fix it :)
     
  5. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    i did upload to virustotal, some anti-virus detected it and some not, but i am still very suspicious about this is a tr or not, i dont think so, the x-block.com seem to me a known and a trusted site and anti-spyware... hm.
     
  6. Thug21

    Thug21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    Illinois
    Hmm, your right - it does have a lot (11) hits on VT. Not sure if I trust that file either.
     
  7. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Dont make this more difficult then it is,just submit it to Avira and be done with it!

    go outside,enjoy life! :)
     
  8. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    I will not subimit the file to Avira, i just dont care now :p
    and go out, i have been out today all day, but now here it is night, the clock is: 02:31 at the Night, so you tell me what should i do out so late when nobody is out here this time and everything is closed, tell me Boost ?
     
  9. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Watch a movie,read a book, be creative!:argh:
     
  10. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    The time you spent creating and replying to this thread was more labor intensive than submitting the file to Avira. :rolleyes:
     
  11. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    yeah, and now i have subimited the file to avira.
    thanks guys.
     
  12. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    If it's a legit security app (which i do not know), it could very well be that they do not encrypt their signatures which would explain such false positives. Panda online scan is also a prime candidate for this type of false positive, as they fail to encrypt many of the signatures they're looking for.
     
  13. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Speaking about FP's. My G DATA's B Engine (The avast one) see's Panda AntiVirus and Panda Internet Security (The installation exe's) as having viruses inside :rolleyes: I don't know about you guys, but I think that's f***ing trippy :D


    Cheers
     
  14. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thank God i don't have anything related to Panda here.
    Indeed, i'm thinking about the little bear as being a real threat to its users :D
     
  16. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    I don't have any Panda installed. I only have the installers + licenses, in case anyone I know, should suddenly feel the urge to make a "wild" shift in his or hers AV solution :)


    Cheers
     
  17. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Yeah Jas i was just j/k, that's why i said 'i don't have anything..' :)

    @Nike_P
    Please let us know if this FP(?) was fixed already.
     
  18. JasSolo

    JasSolo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    Denmark
    Seems that it's been fixed in PAV but not in PIS :D ....yeaah, all them funny names on AV's.


    Cheers
     
  19. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    LOL, pis is a vulgar name for urine in Spanish (like pee)
     
  20. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    :D
    No signs of Nike_P now. I wonder if the FP was fixed already..
     
  21. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    the FP is fixed :)
    Macstorm just scan now :p
     
  22. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thanks for let us know :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.