Avira email configuration

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Drew99GT, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Can someone give me the address and exactly what to do in the email configuration of Antivir to send a file to them? Like when you get a detection, you can click "send file" but it goes to the email configuration and I have no clue what to do there. I recently got what I think was a false positive in the firefox cache of all places and uploaded it to virustotal and Avira was the only one that got a detection for it. I'd liked to have sent it to Avira for clarification. Thanks
     
  2. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    you could get the smtp server from your email service provider, if it's available. sender address is your email address.

    if you don't know how to configure it, try to use this link directly.
     
  3. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I use hotmail so I don't know the smtp server. Can you just put your email without the smtp?
     
  4. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    338
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    If you use the link above, can you upload a file directly from the quarantine to send it in without restoring it to say, the desktop (so you can find it easy)?
     
  5. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    hotmail doesn't provide smtp service. but what about your isp? Most of the email boxes from isp have this feature.
     
  6. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    Actually, I am not sure about it. I guess it's ok.
     
  7. SteveS335

    SteveS335 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Posts:
    43
    Yes, you can send a quarantined file.

    Just browse on shek's link to:
    C:\Documents and settings\All Users\Application data\Antivir PersonalEdition Classic\Infected

    Steve
     
  8. pilotart

    pilotart Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    377
    Another advantage of Shek's link over the Quarantine icon 'send' is that you will get a personal reply from the AVIRA Lab with their findings on the file sent.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.