Avira,Comodo and what more?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by rimo2008, May 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rimo2008

    rimo2008 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Hello,

    I'd like to have a free and solid security setup for my vista laptop.

    I was thinking about Avira free and Comodo Firewall.

    What do I need more to have a solid setup,I suppose an anti malware/spyware program?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    That's all you need.....
     
  3. rimo2008

    rimo2008 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    But i thought Avira free version is without an anti spyware/malware?
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Nope, the new Avira free now has anti-spyware included just like Premium. You're good in that department. Comodo will do the rest.... I'd say you have a great setup already.
     
  5. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    No the current version 9 now includes Anti-Spyware in the free version.

    *Edit* Damn that Kerodo bloke types fast.
     
  6. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Mumbai
    U have good security app but if u still feel to add more security apps to ur arsenal try
    MalwareBytes Antimalware
    Super Antispyware
    :thumb:
     
  7. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    If your using the FW/Hips combo with Avira 9, you are good to go.

    Ice
     
  8. Tu5

    Tu5 Guest

    Pretty solid setup. I wouldnt add any other scanners etc to that. However, i would suggest possibly adding sandboxIE. Now all you need is a good backup software and you're good to go
     
  9. Wildest

    Wildest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Posts:
    304
    I have Comodo with Defense+ on Safe Mode and the Firewall on Custom, and Avira Premium with the Guard disabled and the Webguard enabled when browsing (some may say that the Webguard is useless, but since my box is clean, the Webguard is sufficient to block any new incoming threats).

    The only other security apps on my box are the ones you mentioned, both used only for on-demand scanning.

    So +1 for your recommendation; very good setup this is.
    :thumb:
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Depends upon you but it seems sufficient. Don,t install Comodo AV in this case or just disable it( not sure if one of these options is better).

    If you want, you might add a Sandbox like SBIE, DW or GW.
     
  11. munckman

    munckman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    rimo2008,

    You are good to go! If you are looking for an additional options; SandBoxie or Shadow Defender may be the way to go.;)

    Another minimal (but all encompassing) setup that you might want to consider is: Online Armor, Avira and SandBoxie or Shadow Defender. Personally, I think SD is easier to implement than SB. There is just something about SB that just confuses the heck out of me.o_O Perhaps SandBoxie is just too easy to implement... or perhaps I'm just too thick.:argh:

    I use OA, Avira,and Shadow Defender because "it" is simple for me,:thumb: Just try SB and SD in addition to what you have to see what is most comfortable for you.:isay:
     
  12. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Hi rimo2008,

    If at all possible create a limited user account for your everyday activities.

    Also, see my signature for a link to the Secunia Software Inspector. You can do an online scan or download the Personal version for home users. It will help you identify vulnerable programs that need updated which will help keep you safe.
     
  13. wdh2313

    wdh2313 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    geswall http://www.gentlesecurity.com/ works with your antivirus & spyware and firewall small footprint on computer resources too. There is free and paid verison...
     
  14. jonesbr

    jonesbr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    TuRkey
    may U should install A squared free for antispyware ,trojan ..
     
  15. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    A joke ?

    The only thing A squared ever detected on my computer were tracking cookies.
     
  16. Milotis

    Milotis Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    West coast Canada
    My current updated security set:

    PAID Versions:
    Process Guard :thumb: X5

    100% Free versions:
    Commodo's free firewall (av not activated) :thumb: x5

    Antivir 9 free :thumb: x5

    Spybot S&D with Teatimer at daily start up :thumb: x5

    Beta testing:

    Deep System Explorer :thumb: X5

    No conflicts have ever occured and this combo has stopped, literally thousands, of attempted intrusions, malware installations, etc. before they got onto the machine.

    People can diss Diamonds CS all they want but I have never had a problem with them in any way shape or form. DSE looks to be outstanding as well.
     
  17. vizhip

    vizhip Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    83
    As others have probably mentioned... when installing Comodo, make sure you remove the check boxes for safe surf and ask...

    Regards -
    -Bob
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.