Avira Antivir

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by whitedragon551, Jul 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Ive been seeing alot of people using it. I was wondering about a few things before I make the switch from NOD32.

    How is it with system resources? When I installed a free version on my moms business laptop it seemed to lag even with pretty decent system resources. My laptop is slightly faster than hers was when she had it.

    How is the detection rate? And what AV database does it use?

    Will it play nicely with Comodo Firewall and Defense + enabled?
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2009
  2. risl

    risl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    581
    Re: Avira Anvir

    It should be light, it has good detection rates according to tests, has own databases and should work well with comodo.
     
  3. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Avira Anvir

    One thing I forgot. Probably one of the most important is how is it at removal? If it detects something and cant remove it, then its basically worthless to me.
     
  4. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    Re: Avira Anvir

    Avira saves system resouce.It can play well with Comodo Firewall and Defense + enabled.Avira's detection is high.
     
  5. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Avira Anvir

    Is it legit detection or is it false positives. I really dont want to sift through possible threats either.
     
  6. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    Re: Avira Anvir

    You can configure Avira.Let Avira delete the virus and copy it to quarantine before deleting.
     
  7. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Avira Anvir

    That takes the point away. It makes no sense to install an antivirus that isnt safe to use. After all its suppose to improve security, not hinder system stability.
     
  8. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    Re: Avira Anvir

    Its legit detection is high.But also has few false alarms.
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Re: Avira Anvir

    http://www.av-comparatives.org/comparativesreviews/main-tests

    Best way to find out is to download the trial version and see how it 'feels' on your machine. My approach about choosing an AV to keep eventually, is to download it on a preferably clean machine and see if you get infected afterwards.

    Some AVs might be better at cleaning, it is true, Avira from my experience is great at denying access (as a result you don't have to clean anything later).
     
  10. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    Re: Avira Anvir

    I agree with you on this point.If a security software hindered system stability,it is just a virus instead of a security software.You use comodo,so I advise you to use Avira.Because in my country,combining comodo with Avira is good choice.
     
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Avira Anvir

    Alright concrete suggestions. Is it pretty standard in scanning times? With NOD32 I can scan a 250Gb HD thats about 90Gbs full in just under 1 hour.
     
  12. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    Re: Avira Anvir

    When I used Avira,it scaning 160Gb HD with 70Gbs fill in needs nearly 40 minutes.
     
  13. Johnny123

    Johnny123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Posts:
    548
    Location:
    Bremen, Germany
    Re: Avira Anvir

    Avira isn't unsafe, at least not any more than the others. If you set heuristics to medium you'll most likely never see a false positive.

    OTOH, if you are worried about system stability, performance, etc., why install all of this security stuff to begin with? Use a limited user account, software restriction policy and DEP and you can just keep an on-demand scanner to check files you download. If you have a router with an SPI firewall you can ditch the software firewall.

    You can tighten up your security using the features of the OS that are readily available and make all of these resource hogs redundant.
     
  14. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Avira Anvir

    Its not just for system stability. Its to provide a happy medium between system stability and security.
     
  15. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Re: Avira Anvir

    A lot, if not all, of the AV's will produce a FP sooner or later.
    The trick is to investigate each file before quarantining or deleting it, if it is found during a scan.
    Regarding files that are detected on the way to the computer from the net, I'm quite happy to let the shield block them, FP or not, and investigate later, considering most detections are real and only a tiny percentage false.
     
  16. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Avira Anvir

    I agree false positives will happen with each and every AV software. However it occurs with some more than others such as AVG.
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
    Re: Avira Anvir

    Let's stay on topic which is "Avira Anvir"
     
  18. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Avira Anvir

    Ha ha not any more. I misspelled.
     
  19. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,854
    Re: Avira Anvir

    Why do you need the paid for solution? I suggest you try the free versions of Avast!/Avira/MSE.
     
  20. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Avira Anvir

    In general paid for versions offer more options.
     
  21. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,854
    Re: Avira Anvir

    At the expense of system resources and in which most cases aren't required. You stated you were looking for balance. :)
     
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
    Fixed.
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    is avira free good for detecting script viruses?and activx virus/spywares?how secure is the webscaner?thanks
     
  24. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I don't think it detects malicious scripts, at the Eicar website the script test is simply ignored. I'm not sure about it, but it's not easy to define what is malicious or benign in terms of scripts. I'd like to know a little more myself about malicious scripts and AVs detections.
     
  25. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,854
    The scripts in general don't really matter as long as you detect the payload.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.