Avira AntiVir 9 released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Mar 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Avira AntiVir 9 was released! Does anyone have any screen shots? How long has it been released? Has anyone used it yet? Is it stable?
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    its been out for a couple days now i believe, its very stable and look essentially the exact same as v8, just a few more options in config maybe.
     
  3. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I'm happy with V8 so i guess i will stick with V8 for a while. I was hopping to see a few changes with the GUI. I am interested in knowing what config changes were made. I usually give a new version time to have any possible bugs ironed out anyways. Not saying there are any significant bugs. Thanks for the info.
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    not bugs ive experienced yet, but i think this is a vital upgrade, MANY improvements under the hood which make v9 much stronger.
     
  5. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Installed and running with no problems here on Windows XP SP3. Will configure it's settings later :thumb:
     
  6. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    no problems here on 2 vista machines.
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Avira in my experiences has a tendency to make very good final released (hell even betas) that are pretty much bug free, leats for the most part.
     
  8. tonyf1971

    tonyf1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    58
    UP and running on my XP netbook all good so far :)
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    The upgrade started automatically on my system and went well without any interruptions (except for rebooting the system).

    At first when the program suggested a full system scan, it got stuck at around 20%. Unchecking in Configuration\Scanner\Scan\Additional settings "Integrity checking of system files" and "Follow symbolic links", allowed the scan to complete. Doing further scans, they seemed to complete even with these settings checked.

    After uninstalling the MailGuard from setup.exe in the avira installation folder(I don't need it), it also deleted all my previous configuration (particularly the time consuming Exception list of file objects).

    The program seems lighter than the previous version even though it offers more features.

    I forgot to mention that I'm running Vista Ultimate32, and after changes to the configuration UAC doesn't prompt anymore to apply for changes as in the previous version.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2009
  10. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,561
    free version updated also?
     
  11. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Yes.

    Avira is simply great.
     
  12. Rain_Train

    Rain_Train Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Posts:
    139
    Here is what Avira has to say about version 9. Cnet's Download.com also wrote an article, found here. You can also download the free version 9 from there as well. That's where I downloaded mine earlier this morning (as the Avira website was very slow to load – probably getting hit hard from all the eager users :D ) and it is indeed the new version 9. I've installed it and it works like a charm; light and efficient at doing its job. :thumb: .
     
  13. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Update went smoothly, runs as good as usual with typical Avira precision, I have noticed it to be slightly lighter than the version 8 but its too early to tell.
     
  14. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Running smooth as silk with SBIE.

    Ice
     
  15. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,937
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Just installed Version 9. Absolutely Marvelous. No problems encountered...as advertised...runs like silk! Cheers...Securon
     
  16. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    1. It does have some small changes to GUI. Mainly the banner logo and some icons.
    2. It is speedier then before.
    3. Anti - Spyware Protection for FREE!!!!!!!!!!
    4. Slightly Less resources - I said slightly because AntiVir is already so light i dont feel any difference at all. Although it is definitely lighter on Process Explorer.

    Anything else i miss?
     
  17. Dr33

    Dr33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    I just bought 3 PC 2 years looks nice but it found 2 FP hope they fix soon :D

    Edit: Premium Security Suite
     
  18. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    Flawless prompted auto-install with no license hassles.

    The only operations I had to do were check/change configuration defaults and set up new profile icons.

    System scan, rootkit scan and manual update speeds seemed about the same as previous version.

    An impressive application-update experience.
     
  19. boonie

    boonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    Smooth update, no problems. Runs a bit lighter than v. 8 here.

    Ran a system drive scan with system file integrity checking enabled. Ran quickly on 4 cores.

    While installing, I enable the option to start Avira as soon as possible, and despite the warning that it may prolong the boot process, I didn't notice any difference.

    I haven't noticed the WSCTool starting up every few minutes in this version.
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I am running Avira Premium (paid version) but it has not updated to version 9. When I click "Update Now" it tells me that I am fully up to date.

    What gives? Can I (should I) update manually? :(
     
  21. boonie

    boonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Posts:
    238
    You could download the installer from here:
    http://www.avira.com/en/downloads/download_personaledition_premium.html
    and run it.

    It should offer to uninstall the previous version first, reboot, and continue with the install.
     
  22. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    can i do manual update from .zip file with AVIRA 9 ?
     
  23. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    just one question is avira free on par with avg and avast's free version....i mean i hope avira haven't disabled any good feature from their pro version...
    i am currently using avast...
     
  24. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Avast free is far more full featured, AVG free uses older engine if I am not mistaken. In terms of detection none come close to Avira and now with anti spyware module added, it makes for an excellent free offering as well.
     
  25. Arup

    Arup Guest


    Bellgamin,

    You need to be in admin account for that update to happen.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.