Avira and 'This application is trying to act like a server and has been changed'

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Fly, Mar 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Windows XP SP2, IE 7, Avira security suite version 10.

    After the latest IE update I got the 'This application is trying to act like a server and has been changed' message.

    Does IE 7 act like a server ? What does that mean ? In this particular case.
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    No answer to your question but, why haven't you updated to SP3 and IE8?
     
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Because I haven't felt the need for SP3.

    At one time, there were issues with AMD CPUs.
    I have all the current updates, so I have no need for SP3. I don't fully trust it, I don't know what is in it.

    I know that updates for SP2 will cease, but I'll deal with that when the time comes.

    IE 8 ? I once tried it while attempting to fix a problem. What I remember was IE 8 showing off how 'cool' it was. I have no particular need for IE 8. My PC doesn't support hardware DEP.
     
  4. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    It could be that ProActiv is constantly communicating with the servers in order to identify/detect your local files and defend you against threats. Just my 2 cents.
     
  5. xorrior

    xorrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Posts:
    66
    It means it's listening for a connection on a socket. Maybe it's catching interprocess communications.

    Check for DLL injection and do a hash check. Also do a rootkit scan.

    "I don't fully trust it, I don't know what is in it." lol..the same can be said about most of the NT subsystems. That logic doesn't make much since. SP3 adds core security improvements in policy and kernel protection.

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...AD-BC34-40BE-8D85-6BB4F56F5110&displaylang=en
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2010
  6. Zombini

    Zombini Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    469
    Is AVIRA 10 over-paranoid ? Looks like an FP to me.
     
  7. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    This has nothing to do with a FP or ProActiv, it's the firewall.

    Like any other personal firewall i know it notices you have changed the application (IE Update), and it is trying to get client/server style connectivity which is normal for a browser.

    You probably haven't enabled to trust the "default" vendors in the config, so the firewall asks you what to do.

    Just hit google with "IE7 acts server firewall", and you'll come up with a bunch of hits for zonealarm, f-secure etc.....


    Normal, expected and desired behavior IMHO, as long as you did not select to trust the default vendor list.
     
  8. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    i used many firewalls and never got a message that internet explorer want to act like a server.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.