Avira 9 problem with the update

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by blacknight, Aug 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,304
    Location:
    England
    I had a little wait for that bigger than normal update too.

    It worked at 6am in the morning though when no one else was around!!
     
  3. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    I've only had sporadic update problems with Avira Premium; maybe Free is different?
     
  4. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Should I guess it's happening with the Free version. No problems in months for my premium v.
     
  5. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    No problems at all here and I'm running the free version.

    Try changing the time of the day that you want it to update and see if that affects it at all.
     
  6. prairie dog

    prairie dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    +1:thumb:
     
  7. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Good to hear that Boost. Hopefully it's an isolated and temporary issue.
     
  8. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe

    May be it is so. Today Avira's update runs normally.
     
  9. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Yep that's the best setting IMO, however it's advisable to check occasionally their website to see if your ivdf file matches the latest one they released.
     
  10. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    That's good news Blacknight ;)
     
  11. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    No problems with update on paid version.
     
  12. prairie dog

    prairie dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    I just ran mine when I normally run into issues and it updated quickly:thumb:


    edit: I use the free version as well
     
  13. prairie dog

    prairie dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    reread my post.
     
  14. prairie dog

    prairie dog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    129
    Yep. I'm aware that avira has update issues every so often. I was just saying that mine have stopped, when I manually update at the same time as when I was having the issue. :thumb:
     
  15. progress

    progress Guest

    Avira and the update - a neverending story and a major drawback :rolleyes:
     
  16. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    167
  17. berng

    berng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    You can manually download the updates from
    http://www.avira.com/en/support/vdf_update.html .

    The manual download usually works. Don't unzip the file you downloaded.

    Then in AVIRA, click on Update (on the top menu), then Manual Update and point the file prompt to the zip file you downloaded.
     
  18. Zimzi

    Zimzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Posts:
    289
    Lucky you, for such task you do not need to update Avira regularly haha.
     
  19. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    483
    Location:
    Canada
    That's why I switched to avast. No problem with updates ha ha
     
  20. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    167
    I'm not behind. Last time I saw the same problem, there was also one number (now xxx.148 ) missing?
     
  21. cqpreson

    cqpreson Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Posts:
    348
    Location:
    China
    I have the same problem now.Scheduler is configured right but update doesn't run automatically.I just can update mamually.

    Maybe I just can wait for Avira's fixing.
     
  22. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    I too, today.
     
  23. Morro

    Morro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    353
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I read this a lot on the Avira Forums, people with update problems for Avira. First i thought it might have something to do with Vista, but since i have a new computer with Vista on it i know that that is not the problem, at least not for me that is. Avira PE Classic has updated for me everyday without any problems.

    It is actually Avast that did not seem to update for me. Or i did something wrong, but i doubt it.
     
  24. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
    According to their web page, the last definition file was

    Version: 7.01.05.149
    Date: 21 Aug 2009

    Two days ago. Maybe they have a problem with the servers. When I try to update manually, it just gets stuck. Doesn't even tell me I have the latest updates.
     
  25. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    I have Premium, and updater said twice today that new files were loaded, yet the defs. are from 8/21. Not sure what is up.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.