AVIRA 8 Release Notes - Now released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tommy, Mar 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    When you step outside of the "common software base" you can see FPs on a weekly basis with almost any AV/AM.
     
  2. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,136
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I do not agree. We have 77 computers in a high risk environment with all Avira setttings on high and have never had a FP with Avira or any of the other 7 AVs we use.
     
  3. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I am curious how it will run on Vista64 on mult cores. Any one of the beta testers know?
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Kees, as smooth as 32 bit.
     
  5. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    191
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I'm glad to see that they are making this an automatic update, others here are complaining about this but I wish every vendor did this. It makes it much easier to keep clients up to date with the latest versions of software that have the latest and most improved features. SUPERAnti-Spyware does this without a single issue so I think some people here should a little faith in Avira's programmers that this with work without any problems. I'm excited to try this new release.

    :)
     
  6. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    What is good for ones can be bad for others..
    Mele where are you? :D
     
  7. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    i think mele will like the new feature in version 8 to disable antivir to auto update its program files ;)
    so the next time, there shouldn't be this discussion anymore.
     
  8. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    429
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    If it is such a problem with updating through the program, just uninstall it before the update arrives. Or turn off updates for some hours, so the program does not updates itself. Or do you think you will be hit by a virus, if you turn it off? Geez. What's the problem? It sounds like the world is going under.
     
  9. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    My suggestions exactly, posts ago.
     
  10. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Since Avira appears to be located in Germany do they release their updates at a particular time in the German time zone?
     
  11. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    well normally it should be in the afternoon, but we never know.
     
  12. mllopes

    mllopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Portugal
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Since avira has in V8 webguard, if i want to use it in conjunction with OnlineArmor, should i enable in onlinearmor the "intercept lopback interface"?
    Thank you

    Mário
     
  13. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Hi,

    If v8 Webguard works like in V7 by proxying connection then the answer is yes :oops:

    Regards,

    MaB
     
  14. mllopes

    mllopes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Portugal
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note


    I am talking about antivirus only(version 7 didnt have webguard), but if it works by proxying i will not install/activate webguard in this new version then.:(
     
  15. rolarocka

    rolarocka Guest

    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I am pretty sure you can disable Webguard at the installation.
     
  16. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,136
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    You can disable several modules at or after installation. You go to add/remove programs and you can load or unload various modules.
     
  17. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Cant wait eh?

    I bet they have some way of phasing the upgrades by ip address to avoid overloading their servers.
     
  18. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,204
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    I can't wait, either. Avira is a great antivirus. My favorite. :).
     
  19. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    are you guys 100% sure it will be released today the 8th April?
     
  20. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    There is another thread in this forum about a different AV that has a web scanner that tends to slow things down some some of their users are angry at the suggestion that they disable it. Here someone asks if he has to install it. Such is life.
     
  21. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    191
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    According to their newsletter, yes.

    :)
     
  22. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Regarding a thread on Avira's Board, the release can be delayed.
    Be patient folks :)
     
  23. argus tuft

    argus tuft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Australia
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Does anyone know how this will work in an update situation? ie, will it automatically be enabled?
     
  24. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    If things are as with previous "extension upgrades", it will ask after a reboot whether you want to install the new components or not.
     
  25. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Re: AVIRA 8 Release Note

    Yes, I uninstalled it last night.

    I simply dislike ANY software that updates on its own. First thing I do with XP is go to Services and disable auto updating. I never vist Windows Updates either. I wait for my email from Microsoft each month with the list of patches and then I read each Security Bulletin and MS Knowledge Base article and then I download to disk (from MS Download Center) each patch. I install one patch and use the computer for awhile. If everything seems ok, then I install the next patch, etc.

    I can see where autoupgrading and auto product updates within a version would be useful in the corporate world but I think it was a poor idea to put this in the home versions. What we need is the ability to scan our networks and that for some inexplicable reason is available only for businesses. There are so many things that would have really enhanced Avira 8 and we got not a single one of them.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.