Avira 12 Prem. Realtime Is a Drag

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by WilliamP, Oct 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I updated to Prem. 12 and now the Realtime Protection is putting a drag on the system. I wonder how safe it would be to disable the realtime. That still leaves Web and Email on.
     
  2. COMPYPY

    COMPYPY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    80
    its really useless to use av without real time . You might have some installation or upgrade problem try to reinstall as avira is not at all dragger ( i myself use it on system and it is running smoothly)
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    What other security have you got? You can try uninstalling properly everything you have as security, install Avira first and then the rest. It is a bit time consuming but IMO worth trying.
     
  4. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Same experience as my bro he gave it 2 opportunities and both were bad experiences. ;)
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Well given what you've said about your bro in the past when it came to security I'm not sure that should carry a lot of weight.;)
     
  6. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    HAHAHAHA well we have to take that into account also. :D
    He is just the average joe in the security department. Since he has a Netbook any PC slowdown can be noticed easily.
    From all the AV's he have tried because he did try a few, the lightest was Avast!, TrendMicro and Norton IS. Those were the ones that you can't even notice it in the background all others Avira, Kaspersky, Panda were kinda heavy, the most noticeable issue was with browsing in multiple tabs, page rendering, page load time etc. :D
     
  7. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I'm using the new version and can't tell any drag. In fact it actually seems a little bit faster.
     
  8. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I guess I often wonder what systems folks use who complain of drag on their system. I have never used an AV that I could tell slowed my systems. I buy a computer with extra capacity so that I am not bothered with slow downs.

    Some AV techs for a particular AV nearly always tell you to ditch everything else. Avira is such. I had slow scans, and the recommendation was to ditch MBAM and other anti malware applications.
    If an AV won't run well with MBAM the AV goes.

    Jerry
     
  9. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Belgium
    v12 is doing as smooth as v10 here, system feels even a little lighter, on quite old hardware & win7.
     
  10. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    If I run Perfect Disk defragmenter I have to disable the real time protection,or it will just sit there.
     
  11. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I'm pretty sure you'll get faster defrags by turning it off momentarily but I wouldn't recommend to do that.

    Btw it's been a long time since I ditched those 3rd party defraggers until I found out they were doing more harm than good on my pc's.

    Viva windows defragger :cool:
     
  12. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    I use Auslogics Disk Defrag and have had no issues so far. Have you tried adding it to the excludes for the proactive module?
     
  13. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    Try changing the real time settings to scan only on write. No need to scan it twice IMHO. I haven't run any benchmarks yet but it does seem to slow my system down a bit more than the old version. I am a performance freak gamer on a I7930 @4ghz.
     
  14. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Even i feel a littttle drag on the system and a huge drag on web performance...i think il switch back to my previous av
     
  15. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    When I upgraded it told me to uninstall outpost pro due to compatibility issues, I kept outpost but have not yet seen any compatibility issues:doubt: has anyone else found any? or are they both in co-existance with each other without problems o_O
     
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Ignore it. Scare tactics if you ask me. If you are not having problems you should be good to go. ;)
     
  17. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No noticable drag here.
     
  18. Syobon

    Syobon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Posts:
    469
    I must say in comparision with F-Secure 2012 Avira is really disappointing regards slowdowns... really felt the drag.
     
  19. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    The other way for me. F-Secure slow for me and Avira much faster on windows 7x64.
     
  20. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    With Avira10 I always had to disable webguard because of slowdowns, but realtime was OK. Avira12 is surprisingly light to the point that there is no speed change to my Vista even with webguard.

    There are however too many people complaining which means that Avira should do something about it (likewise about conflicts, too many unresolved issues and false alarms).
     
  21. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    I had F-Secure before Avira 2012 and Avira is a lot lighter for me, no problem with the webguard either. I guess it all depends on what you have installed in your computer, which addons you have in your browser, etc.

    By the way, regarding F-Secure, I found that the component that affected more my computer's performance was its HIPS or behavior blocker, the Application Control.
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    no drag to me. Actually Avira feels lighter on all machines then the other 2 antivirus products I use.;)
     
  23. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    C'mon, even lighter than Panda Cloud ? if so you need your butt dyno re-calibrated...hehe

    Oh, Avira has no drag for me but not as light as Panda.
     
  24. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I love Panda, but it isnt as light as you might think and it sure as heck is heavier then Avira. But my fab three are Avira, Panda and Eset in no certain order
     
  25. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Nah, Avira is heavier then Panda and slows web browsing down.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.