AVGFree Forum??

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Terryala, Feb 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Terryala

    Terryala Rest in Peace

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    Hi All,

    Any one here know whats wrong with AVG Free Forum?? Unable to get to it wonder if it is broke??

    Thanks.

    Grand Dad
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
  3. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Is this the url?

    http://gappa2.grisoft.cz/freeforum/

    If so, i was able to access it just now.


    snowbound
     
  4. Terryala

    Terryala Rest in Peace

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    Thanks. Those were the links I tried using IE and Opera. Hum wonder why I can't get to it. Might have to see if F/W is blocking it or something else?? As I can get to everything else OK..

    Grand Dad.

    Well tracked it down to Avast A/V not letting me get to that Web Site. Hum will have to see what setting is causing that??
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2005
  5. Terryala

    Terryala Rest in Peace

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    OK just an update on my problem getting to AVG Forum. Was Avast A/V causing the problem. Found that if I turn Web Shield off in it I can get to the Site OK.

    Will have to check more to see why that part is doing what it is.

    Grand Dad
     
  6. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Please post back, thanks. Is this the new beta that is out? :ninja:
     
  7. Terryala

    Terryala Rest in Peace

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    mercurie: Yes it is. Been using it since first came out and have kept it updated.V4.6 Build Feb 2005 4,6,595

    Will like I said see what I can find out as to the why. But with Web Shield off works fine.

    Grand Dad
     
  8. Terryala

    Terryala Rest in Peace

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    Found that the problem was with Avast as others had reported same type problem loading Web Sites. Should have been corrected in this latest update.

    Seems to be OK now.

    Grand Dad
     
  9. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Thanks Terryala. I am interested in this latest ver. of Avast and will give it a real good look when it is ready and released to public. I do not work with betas. Thanks again. ;)
     
  10. Terryala

    Terryala Rest in Peace

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    60
    Yep I under stand on Betas. I finally had to remove it as it would not go with my system. My other A/V worked fine with no problems. But with Avast I had to keep turning off Web Shield to see AVG Free Forum.

    Before with Opera I could use only the bottom link posted above. Now with my other A/V I can use both links and everything is fine. Go figure. Same with IE6 SP2.

    Will like you wait for final version..

    Grand Dad
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.