AVGAS 7.5.1.36 does not start if guard.exe disabled or stopped

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by gorgelink, Jun 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gorgelink

    gorgelink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    49
    Hi,

    I have a free AVGAS 7.5.1.36. I changed guard.exe to Manual using start-->run-->services.msc and then I stopped the process becuase I don't want it to run in the background and create conflicts.

    After I stopped guard.exe - AVGAS refuses to start!

    When I click on AVGAS (having stopped guard.exe), I keep getting:

    "Connection to serrvice failed. Please reinstall AVG Antispyware 7.5"

    To open AVGAS, I have to re-start guard.exe.

    Anyone came across a similar problem? Anyone knows a solution?

    Thank you for a great product and a wonderful, supportive community of users.

    G.
     
  2. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    guard.exe absolutely needs to be running in the new version. Some of the main functionality like cleaning, analysis tools etc. had to be outsourced from avgas.exe to guard.exe. If you stop guard.exe after avgas.exe has been started, the analysis tools will stop working, you will not be able to clean/delete files etc.
     
  3. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    peter.ewido,

    I do not allow AVGAS to start with Windows and I do not run it for real-time protection. I only use it for an on-demand scanner. I see no reason why guard.exe needs to be running constantly in the background.

    Why can't the guard.exe service be set to "manual" startup and have AVGAS fire it up whenever AVGAS is launched.

    I hope this can be changed in a future update. I am new to AVGAS but am already thinking of abandoning it due to this, as I know others are also.
     
  4. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    No, sorry, this cannot be changed... :( Core functionality has been outsourced to guard.exe, that means even things like update and cleaning are now being performed by the "guard". The application itself simply does not have enough access rights. This practice is btw. not uncommon nowadays.
     
  5. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Will updates or cleaning be done anyway if AVGAS itself is not running and only guard.exe is running. I would assume o_O that AVGAS itself would have to be running as well as guard.exe. Am I wrong? If not then why can't AVGAS fire up guard.exe when it is started and then guard.exe could perform the cleaning or updates.

    I understand that guard.exe needs to be running anytime AVGAS is running but why when it isn't?
     
  6. tetonbob

    tetonbob Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    94
    This means the tool can no longer be run in safe mode, where malware removal is frequently best done.
     
  7. Bugbatter

    Bugbatter Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    Yes. :(
     
  8. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Hi Peter.ewido,

    I totally agree with Firebytes and for me too, I only use AVGAS ondemand and I certainly don't want guard.exe to start with windows but only when I open AVGAS and stop when I close AVGAS...

    If you don't change that situation, I am also thinking of abandoning AVGAS if you persist to go this way... :mad:

    Atomas31
     
  9. coolbluewater

    coolbluewater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    268
    Location:
    next door to Redmond
    Alternatively, you can just use the previous version of AVG AS for an on-demand scanner and go back to playing Russian Roulette with the updates.
    SpySweeper (current version) also must have it's service set to Automatic to run a scan; you can then set it back to Manual, but requires a reboot to stop running. On the other hand, the current SpywareDoctor (5.0.0.186) can be run on-demand; it starts its own service and drivers, and when you close it, it shuts them down. A-Squared Free v3.0 also runs on-demand and shuts down afterward with no issues; ditto for SAS and even SpyBot S&D.
    Having to reboot just to clear an on-demand scan service is a hassle IMO. YMMV.
     
  10. robinb9

    robinb9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    219
    the biggest problem I see is why it will not run in safe mode. Many trojans cannot come out unless you run the program in safe mode to get rid of them. By disallowing AVGAS not to run doesn't this defeat the purpose?

    Can AVAGS explain why they took this function out in this version?

    Also when will it be sent via the update in the Pro version because I have not seen this happen yet.

    Robin
     
  11. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Please read this regarding save mode. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1020041&postcount=43

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  12. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    I went ahead and ditched AVGAS for now at least. Maybe I will try it again in the future if they change the guard.exe issue. Also, right before I uninstalled I tried a manual update just to see what would happen and it gave me an error.

    I will stick with SAS (free) for now and possibly try A-Squared Free 3.0 as a second on-demand scanner, if as coolbluewater says it can run on-demand without a persistent background service running.
     
  13. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    Vinzenz
    when will it be coming via the updates? I have the pro version and nothing has come in except updated definitions. The new version still has not come via my updates.

    thanks
    robin
     
  14. OldRebel

    OldRebel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    It seems that system services even for free scanners has become the usual thing. A2 Free has one now, a2service.exe, which is necessary for scanning, updating, handling multiple XP user accounts and Vista use. A friend tells me that the new Ad Aware 2007 free version also has a system service.

    From what I'm seeing on my PC, the AVG AS guard is using less resources than any of my other tools when they are idle. I have it set on demand only with autoupdates and Shield turned off.
     
  15. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Unless I am just missing something (entirely possible) SuperAntispyware (free) does not run a persistent service in the background so I will stick with it. Even if the services for A-Squared or AVGAS use little resources they are still using some constantly and for no good reason if I am using it only as an on-demand scanner periodically.
     
  16. jedi

    jedi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    It's been posted at SpywareInfo that:
    Is this the case, or will it still function as an on-demand tool?
     
  17. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    No, that's not true! Although guard.exe will stop protecting the system, it will still be running and provide the necessary functionality for avgas.exe to scan, update etc.
     
  18. OldRebel

    OldRebel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    That's a relief to hear! I thought the guard would continue, but without the Shield, as you just stated. My friends have become anxious about that issue.
    I really like that AVG AS works without problems on all user accounts and that it has some self-protection for its registry entries. That's worth having the guard running all the time. I used another software (which I will not name) that I accidentally rendered unable to update just by deleting my user temp files. Furthermore, just to add my 2 cents on the subject of HIPS, I'm glad that AVG AS does not have IDS or HIPS features. As it is now, it is compatible with my several security suites, which ALL have some kind of HIPS or system guard. Too many added features will produce too many potential conflicts, IMO.
     
  19. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Is there a way to start guard.exe to scan/update, then stop/unload it without a reboot?
    Can this be done via a batch file?
    Otherwise, I won't use AVG AS :'(
     
  20. raymond119053

    raymond119053 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    I have it set to manual and use services.msc to start and stop, works fine.
     
  21. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Raymond that will definitely work and you can make it even easier to do it that way by creating a shortcut to services.msc on your desktop or in your quicklaunch area. I just didn't feel like manually starting and stopping the AVG guard service everytime I wanted to run AVGAS, but hey, I'm lazy.
     
  22. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Great. Now, I'll write that batch file.
     
  23. tetonbob

    tetonbob Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    94
    ...and clean, Peter? Just real time protection and auto updates time out as before?
     
  24. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Exactly. :)
     
  25. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    You could use

    Code:
    net start "AVG Anti-Spyware guard"
    start /wait avgas.exe
    net stop "AVG Anti-Spyware guard"
    This way, the service will be running until you close avgas.exe (it definitely has to be running while you are using avgas.exe :))
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.