AVG kills 64bit versions of 7/Vista

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by funkydude, Dec 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    http://www.neowin.net/news/avg-update-sends-computers-into-limbo
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    So much for protecting the users :/ Are companies really feeling so desperately pressured by malware now that they will skip proper QA?
     
  3. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    More like desperate to fix bugs in the 2011 product line, that they won't even properly test the upgrades, which come out buggier. lol
     
  4. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    Yeah. I was testing out AVG IS on my main PC when this came through. BSOD'd on reboot. To fix it I booted up in linux and renamed the AVG folder in program files. That let me boot my system and remove AVG.
     
  5. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Hmmm, updates again huh ;)
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    It's a bad gaff though. A lot of people seem to be using AVG at the moment. There's no excuse for this dodgy update, it will have caused a lot of people serious grief.
     
  7. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Updates like this mean more money in my pocket. Thanks AVG :D
     
  8. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Last time it was NOD32, before it was Norton (I guess), I wonder, which AV is gonna to be the next in terminating Windows. :rolleyes:
     
  9. carat

    carat Guest

    Avast destroyed Windows a few weeks/months ago (FP disaster) so I guess it will be Avira ;)
     
  10. LODBROK

    LODBROK Guest

    I hear that.
    I was contracted to a major financial institution and sitting at my desk when this one hit:
    -http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/09/08/trend_security_false_alarm/-
    Time and a half over time: 17 hours! :D
     
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,771
    Location:
    Outer space
    I didn't hear from Norton, maybe you mean McAfee? They were the most recent that I know about, and Avast of course.
     
  12. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,449
    Location:
    Mumbai
    One more feather in avg's cap ;)
     
  13. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Fixed it for ya :D

    Just another reason I dont run an AV,for reasons such as this issue.
     
  14. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,718
    Moral value of the story: Sometimes, having the *latest* up-to-the-minute updates can bring more harm than good.

    Back to topic - I'd think that AVG ought to have learnt something from their past mistake by now....they can't afford to screw up PCs by such repeated incidents. Not only does it bring grief to its users but it'll tarnish their image further...no matter what they say (explanation of why it occurred) or how many words of apologies they offer. Not even free licenses to Pro versions can repair the damage although that may calm down the situation by a small margin...

    I don't know what others think but I'd rather swallow a few 'harmless' FPs that bring slight annoyances rather than a stupid update that messes up everything. All this is under the context for those using AVs.
     
  15. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,449
    Location:
    Mumbai
    hah lol :thumb:
     
  16. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    This has happen to me twice recently with Avira where after receiving an update i got the infamous BSOD. Whats the deal that windows is so hard to work with now? Whats changed recently? Does it have anything to do with Windows anti patch guard?
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    This is one of the reasons I tend to trust MSE. You'd think MS would be careful with their own product. I hope anyway ... ;)
     
  18. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    There's only 4 certainties in life:

    1. Death
    2. Taxes
    3. Nurses ;)
    4. and one day your AV company will push out an update that nuke's your PC
     
  19. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,856
    As far as I'm aware since MSE doesn't root itself so deeply into your system with drivers and such, it shouldn't be capable of doing this. That's the good thing about it being a Microsoft product, they use they own API calls for MSE, which many vendors just ignore.

    You'd also assume they wouldn't detect any critical system files either - though you never know. :p
     
  20. Vladimyr

    Vladimyr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Australia
    Did I miss (or sleep through while it was corrected) something catastrophic?
    Can you post a link?

    Edit: Now I remember, an FP issue about a year ago. We "GMT+11" types did largely sleep through it and none of my clients were affected. I'm checking with W7 64-bit AVG 2011 users now.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
  21. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    :D Thank you AVG, McAfee etc.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
  22. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    Pretty embarrassing. And all this time I've been thinking the major FP incidents were bad.
     
  23. Taliscicero

    Taliscicero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,439
    I had this problem with AVG Internet Security. I did not get a bluescreen but the real-time antivirus component would not work and i had to do a fresh install of AVG. It was not a big deal for me :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2010
  24. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    the ultimate security solution? ;)
    "if it don't work, it don't get infected!"
     
  25. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well, there's the upside ...

    & there's the downside ... ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.