AVG Internet Security 2015 + Comodo Firewall 8

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by UltimateProtection, Feb 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. UltimateProtection

    UltimateProtection Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Hi! I never before installed any Firewalls, so I'm not entirely sure how this works in this situation ---> I have Antivirus - AVG Internet Security 2015, it has integrated Firewall that controlls my default Windows Firewall. Now I installed Comodo Firewall 8 and my question is: should I turn off Firewall in my AVG? If I turn off Firewall in my AVG that means my Default Windows Firewall is turned off and my Comodo Firewall is turned on instead of Default Windows Firewall? Is that what I should do? I'm confused because my AVG is showing me allert that my Firewall is turned off and saying I'm not protected, but when I open my Comodo Firewall is says that I'm protected... Please help!
     
  2. SeReB

    SeReB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Hello UltimateProtection,
    AVG Firewall is a standalone firewall. While it is running, it tells Windows Firewall to shut down few modules of it (mainly traffic control). When Comodo Firewall is installed, you have exactly three firewalls in the system.

    However there is certainly a reason why AVG Firewall says it is not filtering. As an Internet Security user you are entitled to a technical support, so download the SysInfo tool, run it and at the end fill your email address and it will be sent directly to AVG's Customer Support.
    If you want only Comodo Firewall running, remove AVG Firewall using Programs and Features (under Control Panel). Comodo Firewall will then tell Windows Firewall which parts of it can be suspended.
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, if you want to use the Comodo Firewall turn off both the Windows firewall and the AVG firewall. AVG apparently can't determine that Comodo Firewall is present.
     
  4. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    Then maybe it's worth to use AVG antivirus bundled with Comodo FW? If AVG lic policy allows to use AV instead of IS on the same lic.
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    That's a thought. What would be easier (if possible) is to disable the alert in AVG so it doesn't constantly show an error condition.
     
  6. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,913
    To disable alert in AVG is a good idea. I just offer to use AV instead of IS not have switched off FW part. Why to clutter RAM?
     
  7. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    Are you sure to disable AVG's firewall is enough?
    Aren't the drivers still active and able to conflict with Comodo?

    I think the option is either AVG Internet Security or Comodo or AVG free/Comodo.
     
  8. StillBorn

    StillBorn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Posts:
    156
  9. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    I agree the best solution for the OP (if he wants to keep using the Comodo Firewall) would be to exchange his license for AV only. The OP would have to contact AVG and see if they'll do that.
     
  10. UltimateProtection

    UltimateProtection Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Yes, I want to have only 1 Firewall enabled and I want it to be Comodo Firewall 8. I will probably switch to AVG that doesn't have firewall integrated. As I never buy antivirus, I'll just find serial key for AVG Antivirus and I guess this should be ok then... I don't know what's the difference between AVG Internet Security and AVG Antivirus, I'll go check that now and see.
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Sounds like a plan :) If you uninstall AVG IS I recommend running the AVG removal tool as well before installing the AVG AV. Let us know how it goes. :thumb:
     
  12. UltimateProtection

    UltimateProtection Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Sure, I always use those AV removal tools, but I first uninstall AV with Revo Uninstaller Pro and then I uninstall it with AV removal tool. :)
     
  13. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    If you're a user of pirated software go and find advice somewhere else!
     
  14. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Yeap! :thumb:
     
  15. UltimateProtection

    UltimateProtection Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    I don't understand what's the problem with using serial keys from Internet when everything works just fine and perfect, no crushes or anything, brilliant, but okay, your choice... I just came to say that I decided to install AV - Trend Micro Internet Security and I turned off it's firewall and I turned off my default Windows Firewall, so now my only Firewall enabled is Comodo Firewall 8. I hope everything will be ok now... :) I was using AVG Internet Security, but I was trying to find some other AV, because I heard AVG isn't the best choice that's why I decided to install Trend Micro Internet Security. I hope I chose the right one, if you know more about what AV is best I'd be glad to hear that from you people... :)
     
  16. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yeah brilliant, just splendid, happy days forever right? :argh:

    Nope we can't, there is more to it than detection rates and test results.
     
  17. UltimateProtection

    UltimateProtection Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Hey guys, I still have AVG PC Tune Up Utility which has an option to disable programs (Program Deactivator) and I really love that option, but there is some problem with AVG Utility, sometimes it says that some file is missing, so I'm afraid something wrong might happen, that's why I'm here to ask you if you maybe know some other programs that have this same option (Program Deactivator). I was trying to find it, but I didn't find anything, so I'm not sure if AVG is the only one that has this option or not. I'd be really greatful if you help me... :)
     
  18. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    Why don't you ask for help wherever you find your cracked keys?


    I'm sure there are lots of tech saviour folks in the midst of...
    ...people who are so clever

    At Wilders we are dumb ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ who know no better than paying for software.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 18, 2015
  19. UltimateProtection

    UltimateProtection Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    I appreciate your comment, and I would really like to know your opinion on why is software you buy better then the one working with fake serial key... I'm not kidding, I'd really like to know, because I see that there are people like you who are saying only softwares you buy are best and the ones who said it's same thing whether you buy it or use fake serial key... So please explain me as detailed as you can... Thanks in advance :)
     
  20. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,125
    Why is this thread still open?
     
  21. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    The reason is that many of us prefer to support the people who develop the software. The developers deserve compensation.
     
  22. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,921
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Since the original question has been answered, this thread is closed. Thank you all for participating.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.