avg av scanner & Bootback ISR

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by timcan, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Hi, sorry if this has been covered before. I'm using the Bootback version of Leapfrog software.I have avg 7.5 free av on one of my snapshots. It seems that avg will by default scan all the snapshots on my computer,not just the one that it is installed in.My question is will scanning all the snapshots cause problems; for instance if malware were found in another snapshot and removed will this cause errors in the other snapshots? I can uncheck various isr folders before scanning if need be. Pls see screenshot. What do you advise? thanks, tim

    http://[IMG]http://i63.photobucket.com/albums/h148/weldermybut/avgbootback.png[/IMG]
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,046
    Hi Timcan

    First it won't hurt other than time to scan all the snapshots. I'd never let any program automatically remove something. It should alert you and give you the option.

    Also sure wouldn't hurt to exclude the other snapshots. I use KAV and it only scans the primary. I like that.

    Pete
     
  3. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply Peter2150. I think I will exclude the other snapshots.
    I have antiVir installed on my primary shot and it only scans the primary.
     
  4. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Yeah, that's my one and ONLY complaint with NOD, I cannot exclude my other nine Snapshots from a complete system scan. :mad:

    Acadia
     
  5. WWS

    WWS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    249
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 22, 2007
  6. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Acadia,

    You can also add:

    E:\ /adware /ah /all /arch+ /clean /cleanmode /delete /heur+ /log+ /mailbox+ /ntfs+ /pack+ /quarantine /scanboot+ /scanmbr+ /scanmem+ /scroll+ /sfx+ /unsafe /wrap+ /exclude=$ISR /quit+

    for the command line scan.

    hth,

    ...screamer
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.