AVG AV plus Firewall - Beta

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by chachazz, Apr 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chachazz

    chachazz Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Posts:
    840
    AVG Firewall Instructions & Download>>

    Beta Software - Use at own Risk!
     
  2. polyglory

    polyglory Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium
    I shall look forward to that with interest, I have been running with the Pro AVG since the start and I have had no complaints about the product.

    Being chicken, I steer clear of Beta versions :D
     
  3. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I took a chance and loaded it yesterday. Everything went very smoothly. The firewall is stealth everywhere I've checked, grc, pcflanks, auditmypc, Sygate, and one other. So far, not a complaint or a problem.

    I don't know if the firewall is AVG's own or a license from another maker. Can't find any info searching the program files. Whoever it is, it configures easily and, after a day, I like it.
     
  4. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    Chuck57, do you have any screen shots??
    thanks
     
  5. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    I wonder if the firewall has anything to do with Kerio as this was the recommended firewall and AV bundle from AVG on the site as far as I remember.

    I have AVG Pro (use Nod32 on notebook) I will be very interested to see if they firewall combo adds to the resources much as the AV does use a bit when you add all the components up. Would love to see a screenshot also.
     
  6. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    Interesting. I just hope they do not force us users into a suite product if we do not want it. But still want to keep AVG. :'(
     
  7. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,422
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I'd be happy to post screenshots, but don't know how.
     
  8. Arup

    Arup Guest

    The best way to check out the original make of firewall used is to check the hidden devices under device manager. For instance, if using Panda Security which uses Sygate engine, one will see the tell tale Sygate components like Sygate W3G, Teefer for NT and WSPNT.
     
  9. Sliver

    Sliver Guest

  10. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    Never mind.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.