Avg 9 free as on-demand scanner

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by SuperTaf, Oct 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SuperTaf

SuperTaf Registered Member

Is there a way to install avg 9 free only as on-demand scanner without real-time protection?

PS: sorry for any mistake but I'm still learning English

2. EliteKiller

EliteKiller Registered Member

Yes, during setup choose custom and uncheck the guard.

3. JRViejo

JRViejo Super Moderator

SuperTaf, first, welcome to Wilders!

I see that in your first 2 posts you mention using BitDefender Free, which is an Anti-Virus program. There is probably a chance that trying to install AVG could create a conflict with BitDefender.

Even if you choose a Custom installation, and unchecked the Link Scanner, Additional installed languages and Email Scanner components, the Resident Shield would be installed. Yes, you can de-activate it after installation, however, this is where the conflict with BitDefender could occur, during installation.

Instead of AVG, I would suggest something like Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware Free version and/or SUPERAntiSpyware Free Edition as additional on-demand scanners.

4. tk55

tk55 Registered Member

like elitekiller said, doesn't uncheck the guard prevents the installation of the resident shield?

5. EliteKiller

Yes, but that is during the Avira setup. Even though the subject and body of the OP list AVG I had Avira on my mind. Sorry about that.....

During the AVG setup even if you choose custom it will install the resident shield. AFAIK you have to disable resident protection in the GUI after the fact. I have successfully run Avira free w/ guard disabled alongside other resident AV's without a hitch. I have not tried it with AVG, and TBH I have no plans to do so.

6. acr1965

acr1965 Registered Member