AVG 9 Free and scorecard research

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ellison64, Feb 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Any one know why AVG seems to contact www.scorcard research .com?.Ive noticed it in outpost .Also when mail scanning that site pops up?.Firefox shows the site too even though only wilders was open.Can it be anything to do with AVG safe search addon which I have installed in firefox?
    ellison
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Looks like another reason to use Sandboxie :D .

    SourMilk out
     
  3. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I use shadow defender on occasions ,however that doesnt help me solve the puzzle of the connection.Outpost was showing the same connection for spamihilator,explorer.exe ,and internet explorer.I have uninstalled avg and scanned with mbam ,sophos anti-rootkit,with no infections.Ive checked my startup programs and running processes ,again there doesnt seem to be any problems.Hosts are normal.Ive also installed KIS2010 and currently running a full scan but it doesnt look like theres any problems.Laptop is behaving normally and all functions are ok as is my browsing.Ive googled but cant find any info on that site and who uses it.If it wasnt for the avg email popup showing that website connection , i might have concurred that outpost may be displaying wrong information.If anyone has any further ideas ,please let me know.
     
  4. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    It's a tracking site. They have an opt-out link on their homepage.
     
  5. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Thanks for the information.Ive completed a full scan with KIS2010 and everythings all clear.I uninstalled kis2010 and scanned with prevx 3.Still all clear.I then reinstalled outpost pro and get the same link showing in the logs,for spamihilator and explorer and firefox..I dont have any malicious cookies so how can the site be tracking?.And all the mentioned anti malware show my pc to be clean.I either have some new undetectable malware or outpost is not correct in its logging.
    Anyone have any more ideas that i may try ?
    ellison
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    Do you use a hosts file manager?
     
  7. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    You may be onto something here.Ive just checked hosts file and this is what is in there
    ......................................................................................................
    Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost


    ...........................................................................................

    Those entries have been put in there by maxa cookie manager which i use and is essentially a block list.
    Ellison
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
  8. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Changing the view in outpost also alters the log.I think ill just reset the hosts and see what happens...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    Put 127.0.0.1 localhost above 127.0.0.1 www.scorecardresearch.com.
     
  10. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499

    Thank you....:thumb:

    You were spot on identifying the problem ,and with the fix.Ill have to keep an eye on maxa and see if its putting in new entries above that one in future.
    Thanks again
    ellison
     
  11. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    You're welcome.
     
  12. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Hey there,

    You should really edit your post, so that unsuspected users and visitors won't click those links. ;)

    :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.